Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 46

Thread: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,924

    Default DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    With the SSD (solid state drive) moving towards 2TB, see report here, would you prefer to have a built in memory or rather stick to removable media? I hate carrying CF cards because sometimes I even forget to bring them. LOL! What do you think?

  2. #2
    vince123123
    Guests

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    Having both is best! I also forget to bring before :P

    Quote Originally Posted by hazmee View Post
    With the SSD (solid state drive) moving towards 2TB, see report here, would you prefer to have a built in memory or rather stick to removable media? I hate carrying CF cards because sometimes I even forget to bring them. LOL! What do you think?

  3. #3

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    Quote Originally Posted by hazmee View Post
    With the SSD (solid state drive) moving towards 2TB, see report here, would you prefer to have a built in memory or rather stick to removable media? I hate carrying CF cards because sometimes I even forget to bring them. LOL! What do you think?
    Then maybe you should train up on your memory I personally like to transfer my photos using card reader, so yup, don't like built-in memory in this case.
    D3S|N70-200|N24-70|N24-85|N50f1.4|N35f2|SB800|SB900|Yashica GS|S95
    www.flickr.com/photos/davidktw

  4. #4
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    Having solid state memory in the camera??

    How to replace it if there is a problem?? There have been loads of cases of solid state drives being faulty. Is it worth the risk?

    I'd rather have memory cards and just replace them if there is any trouble.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  5. #5

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    imagine lugging a DSLR just to transfer images to another location.....

  6. #6

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    hmm, there's a chance that the in-built memory might fail. at least with memory cards, its more flexible, and can always get a replacement. plus with a memory card, you can pass the card to someone else, if he/she wants the photos.

  7. #7

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    Quote Originally Posted by hazmee View Post
    With the SSD (solid state drive) moving towards 2TB, see report here, would you prefer to have a built in memory or rather stick to removable media? I hate carrying CF cards because sometimes I even forget to bring them. LOL! What do you think?
    Actually, I'd prefer removable... cuz.. the pic have to come out of the cam somehow... unless DSLRs provide sufficient transfer rate, how you do your downstream processess...ie, how you PP your pics...etc..

    unless DSLRs include e-SATAII link to PC.. mabbe can consider.
    Gallery | Facebook Page Spreading the Good photography.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,924

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    Quote Originally Posted by TigerOyster View Post
    imagine lugging a DSLR just to transfer images to another location.....
    I think wireless will the future way of transferring images.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,924

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    Having solid state memory in the camera??

    How to replace it if there is a problem?? There have been loads of cases of solid state drives being faulty. Is it worth the risk?

    I'd rather have memory cards and just replace them if there is any trouble.
    There's always the service centre! Go screw them up!

  10. #10

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    Quote Originally Posted by CYRN View Post
    Actually, I'd prefer removable... cuz.. the pic have to come out of the cam somehow... unless DSLRs provide sufficient transfer rate, how you do your downstream processess...ie, how you PP your pics...etc..

    unless DSLRs include e-SATAII link to PC.. mabbe can consider.
    Yup... think its about time the newest DSLR incorporate e-SATA at the very least.

    And judging by the way the SDHC format is moving, we may have 1 to 2 terabyte cards sooner than we think!

  11. #11
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    Quote Originally Posted by hazmee View Post
    There's always the service centre! Go screw them up!
    I wouldn't want to visit the service centre time after time over a simple drive issue... this would be more of a hamper than aid...
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,924

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    Quote Originally Posted by CYRN View Post
    Actually, I'd prefer removable... cuz.. the pic have to come out of the cam somehow... unless DSLRs provide sufficient transfer rate, how you do your downstream processess...ie, how you PP your pics...etc..

    unless DSLRs include e-SATAII link to PC.. mabbe can consider.
    I am sure with technological advancements, wireless transfer speed will increase. But for now, it might seem slow. But don't worry, because with Canon, you can.

  13. #13

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    Quote Originally Posted by hazmee View Post
    I am sure with technological advancements, wireless transfer speed will increase. But for now, it might seem slow. But don't worry, because with Canon, you can.
    there will always be a gap between wireless transfer speed and cable transfer speed... similar to P&S sensor vs FF sensor... wired transfer speed using optical is already way over wireless standards.

    At the rate manufacturers cramming pixels into the cam.. dun tink wireless can catch up... hahaha

    wif canon... everyone can... limited to USB2.0 atm.
    Gallery | Facebook Page Spreading the Good photography.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,924

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    I wouldn't want to visit the service centre time after time over a simple drive issue... this would be more of a hamper than aid...
    I am sure there will be rigorous MTBF tests done to ensure users ease of mind. I am still using my 3 year old iPod without any problems. I guess if your machine keeps breaking down, you have got yourself a lemon! Time to wear red undies when buying new gear.

  15. #15

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    Quote Originally Posted by KangS View Post
    Yup... think its about time the newest DSLR incorporate e-SATA at the very least.

    And judging by the way the SDHC format is moving, we may have 1 to 2 terabyte cards sooner than we think!
    2TB card can allow me to shoot 1 year liao... shoot and keep, dun even need to transfer... dun even need e-Sata in cam liao.

    now, if they onli allow mi to RAID the 2TB SDxC...
    Last edited by CYRN; 9th January 2009 at 12:17 PM.
    Gallery | Facebook Page Spreading the Good photography.

  16. #16

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    More choices, why not!?

  17. #17
    Moderator diver-hloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Somewhere North
    Posts
    5,201

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    With CF card being this cheap nowadays..... don't see a point paying extra for a DSLR with SSD built-in. Hard to replace if got problem, must bring the camera along to download.

    Would prefer the camera to have more built-in RAM so that in Burst Mode, the camera photo photo storage buffer could be increase for RAW photo.

    Scuba & Father... For Life

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,924

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    Quote Originally Posted by CYRN View Post
    there will always be a gap between wireless transfer speed and cable transfer speed... similar to P&S sensor vs FF sensor... wired transfer speed using optical is already way over wireless standards.

    At the rate manufacturers cramming pixels into the cam.. dun tink wireless can catch up... hahaha

    wif canon... everyone can... limited to USB2.0 atm.
    For the trigger happy 10fps shooter, it might take forever to copy 32GB of images over. LOL!

    For people who are looking for integration and convenience, I hope it comes true someday.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    prefer not to, example like Canon HF100 + 16GB SD card is cheaper than HF10. Although it probably good for people who forgot to bring or easy to lose memory card.

    Also SDXC is coming, just wonder do we need another new card reader for SDXC
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  20. #20

    Default Re: DSLR with built in memory: Yes or No

    Quote Originally Posted by hazmee View Post
    For people who are looking for integration and convenience, I hope it comes true someday.
    quite true... mabbe we can see integrated memory on the consumer line soon... juz like video cams with built-in HDD....

    ... I can already imagine the marketing advert... pro-photog rushing off for an assignment... but left card in PC reader... on location realize cannot shoot (or missed critical timing).... another pro-photog same experience but wif built in memory.. carry on shooting and get excellent pics.

    PS: happened to me once...
    Gallery | Facebook Page Spreading the Good photography.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •