Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How Image Stabilizer works?...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Jurong
    Posts
    160

    Default How Image Stabilizer works?...

    Actually how Image Stabilizer works?

    And how do I know when my C2100UZ's Image Stabilizer is ready? They should have designed so that the IS icon flashes when it's in the mode or something. I only notice the image on the LCD 'floats' (moves slowly) when I 'feel' the IS is ready.

  2. #2
    ClubSNAP Admin Edmund's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,340

    Default Re: How Image Stabilizer works?...

    Originally posted by KamWeng
    Actually how Image Stabilizer works?
    Here's a link. And another here (click on "Technical Room" then "Image Stabilizer"). Can't explain it any better than them.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hougang, SG
    Posts
    1,338

    Default Re: How Image Stabilizer works?...

    Originally posted by KamWeng
    Actually how Image Stabilizer works?

    And how do I know when my C2100UZ's Image Stabilizer is ready? They should have designed so that the IS icon flashes when it's in the mode or something. I only notice the image on the LCD 'floats' (moves slowly) when I 'feel' the IS is ready.
    At shorter focal length the effect of the IS is not that noticeable...but at max 10x zoom, you'll can really feel it when the IS kicks in. The subject in the C-2100UZ's EVF suddenly goes into slow-motion instead of jumping wildly around.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Jurong
    Posts
    160

    Default Re: How Image Stabilizer works?...

    Originally posted by Edmund
    Here's a link. And another here (click on "Technical Room" then "Image Stabilizer"). Can't explain it any better than them.
    Seen that. But how if we tilt the camera high to take photo of building etc.?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Any idea why IS should not be turned on when the camera is on a tripod? Canon's early IS is like that, as is my Panasonic DV Cam.

    Regards
    CK

  6. #6
    ClubSNAP Admin Edmund's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,340

    Default

    Originally posted by ckiang
    Any idea why IS should not be turned on when the camera is on a tripod? Canon's early IS is like that, as is my Panasonic DV Cam.

    Regards
    CK
    There is very good information extracted from the EOS Mailing List archives here. Take special note of the explanation by Chuck Westfall (last email).

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •