View Poll Results: Do you have a landlilne at home

Voters
66. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, I have a landline at home

    56 84.85%
  • No, I don't have a landline at home

    10 15.15%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 33

Thread: Do you still have a landline at your house?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Singapore, West
    Posts
    478

    Default Do you still have a landline at your house?

    If yes, why you keep the landline?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    SGee
    Posts
    1,572

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    if got IED outside my door cannot use cell to call 999.
    have u seen the "light" yet?

  3. #3
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    Need it for my singnet broadband..
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  4. #4
    Senior Member afbug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Planet SG™
    Posts
    483

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    Yes still have cos Starhub offering free landline for TV subscribers.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    cos my internet subscription is tied to the house phone.. my parents and sis also use it quite often. i prefer my hp, cos its easier. just search for the contacts and dial straight away.
    Kodak Easyshare C875
    flickr

  6. #6
    Moderator diver-hloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Somewhere North
    Posts
    5,201

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    No landline.... no SingTel Broadband...... no Internet (Porn, Forum, download... etc)

    Scuba & Father... For Life

  7. #7

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    For broadband and alarm.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ClubSNAP East
    Posts
    1,702

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    Yes. Coz it's free from Starhub and it offers free incoming and outgoing calls too.

    Besides, making use of HP at all times is costly.

    :Later,

  9. #9
    Member terryansimon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Quahog, Rhode Island
    Posts
    95

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    yes. because this number has been with my family for the past 2 decades now. we have friends from yonks ago calling us up on this number till this very day.
    chicken fight!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Singapore, West
    Posts
    478

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    Need it for my singnet broadband..
    I understand singnet BB share the copper with the voice, but it never occurred to me the BB subscription is possible only when there is a voice /land line subscription. Hmm... I was thinking to cut my landline

  11. #11
    Senior Member afbug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Planet SG™
    Posts
    483

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    Quote Originally Posted by ConnorMcLeod View Post
    I understand singnet BB share the copper with the voice, but it never occurred to me the BB subscription is possible only when there is a voice /land line subscription. Hmm... I was thinking to cut my landline
    Well I dunno how much u are paying but u can terminate the service and sign up with Starhub? Think they got a tri-service promo for BB/TV with free landline. Approx $59 i think.

    Or a TV service with hubstation if u're not a heavy BB user? Comes with free 1mbps BB and landline. Basic TV sub is about $34 with hubstation.

  12. #12
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    Quote Originally Posted by ConnorMcLeod View Post
    I understand singnet BB share the copper with the voice, but it never occurred to me the BB subscription is possible only when there is a voice /land line subscription. Hmm... I was thinking to cut my landline
    you still need to dial out... its a ADSL modem... not cable modem...
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    yup, because of broadband. Otherwise seldom use landline now.
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  14. #14

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    Quote Originally Posted by afbug View Post
    Yes still have cos Starhub offering free landline for TV subscribers.
    If there is a power failure, StarHub telephone can work or not?

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ClubSNAP East
    Posts
    1,702

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    Quote Originally Posted by Harry Potter View Post
    If there is a power failure, StarHub telephone can work or not?
    The voice modem is powered by electricity liao... so of course it won't work.

    Use your HP if that happens.

    :Later,

  16. #16
    Senior Member redstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Beyond the outer limits
    Posts
    2,898

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    Landline rates cheaper

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Singapore, West
    Posts
    478

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    Quote Originally Posted by afbug View Post
    Well I dunno how much u are paying but u can terminate the service and sign up with Starhub? Think they got a tri-service promo for BB/TV with free landline. Approx $59 i think.

    Or a TV service with hubstation if u're not a heavy BB user? Comes with free 1mbps BB and landline. Basic TV sub is about $34 with hubstation.
    I am paying certainly too much w.r..t what you mentioned. I signed up with this plan (BB only) because I get the SONY tv bundled so calculating backwards, the BB costs me about $40 / month, which at that time was reasonable to me. Since then company stopped paying for my BB so I have to shoulder the full cost myself

  18. #18

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    For a moment I read landmine..

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Up North......
    Posts
    624

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    Land Line....... keeping in touch with friends........... 1 call a year from long lost friend is more than worth it liao..........

    Yes, i do still have it. After I shifted for the 3rd time with the same number.... hehehe.......
    D300|35mm f/2|85mm f/1.4|18-200 mm VR|17-55mm f/2.8 |70-300 F4-5.6|Tok 11-16 f/2.8|SB800|MB-D10|

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Singapore, West
    Posts
    478

    Default Re: Do you still have a landline at your house?

    Quote Originally Posted by smalltake View Post
    Land Line....... keeping in touch with friends........... 1 call a year from long lost friend is more than worth it liao..........

    Yes, i do still have it. After I shifted for the 3rd time with the same number.... hehehe.......
    I doubt any of my friend konw my landline number.... anyway they use email now coz it can attach files such as video.....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •