Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: pondering about softwares

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Simpang Bedok
    Posts
    138

    Default pondering about softwares

    hi guys! firstly happy new year

    I have a question, when it comes to HDR, what softwares are good for it? So far I've heard of Photomatix are there any other softwares besides that? Next, for normal tweaking of pictures, which is a recommendable software? Lightroom? Photoshop? Hope I get some useful advices! Thanks

  2. #2

    Default Re: pondering about softwares

    photomatix is still the most intuitive to use.

    if you have a choice, try to avoid using it, after a long while of mucking around with it it still renders relatively unnatural results. the time spent on adjusting and massaging the output from photomatix, even with a low strength applied.. might as well do manual blending.

    photoshop is generally all you need, along with a raw converter if you do not like the one supplied with your camera.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Simpang Bedok
    Posts
    138

    Default Re: pondering about softwares

    Thanks for the response! Erm, I'm still a beginner soooo... what do you mean by manual blending :O

  4. #4

    Default Re: pondering about softwares

    Quote Originally Posted by ricolarr View Post
    Thanks for the response! Erm, I'm still a beginner soooo... what do you mean by manual blending :O
    same thing done as for hdr

    you shoot a few exposures, keeping iso/aperture/focal point/wb constant, then stack them as layers in photoshop and selectively erase to reveal the relevant details..

    time consuming, but gives very realistic results. when you've got the hang of it, anyways.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Simpang Bedok
    Posts
    138

    Default Re: pondering about softwares

    i see! alright ill give it a shot. by the way i understand that to produce HDR you need to shoot in auto exposure bracketing am i right? however this only allows 3 shots, i've read some tutorials in which they take around 7 shots which varies in the exposure level.

  6. #6

    Default Re: pondering about softwares

    no, you do not need to shoot in AE bracketing

    i always, always use manual mode to shoot HDR.

    just keep your wb/iso/aperture fixed, get the 0 ev, then underexpose, and do 1 stop in between, adjusting shutter speed ONLY

    also, please note that you need a tripod, or at least a means of keeping camera stable and in the same position when shooting hdr.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Simpang Bedok
    Posts
    138

    Default Re: pondering about softwares

    thanks for the insight

  8. #8
    Senior Member dorts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    2,173

    Default Re: pondering about softwares

    Quote Originally Posted by night86mare View Post
    no, you do not need to shoot in AE bracketing

    i always, always use manual mode to shoot HDR.

    just keep your wb/iso/aperture fixed, get the 0 ev, then underexpose, and do 1 stop in between, adjusting shutter speed ONLY

    also, please note that you need a tripod, or at least a means of keeping camera stable and in the same position when shooting hdr.
    Isn't that exactly what AE bracketing does?

    AE bracketing will help with handheld HDR, together with continuous shooting mode.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Simpang Bedok
    Posts
    138

    Default Re: pondering about softwares

    Yes but varying on photographers preference, some prefer to have 5 shots or more of diff exposures since its said to be optimally more accurate I guess.
    Haha

  10. #10

    Default Re: pondering about softwares

    Quote Originally Posted by dorts View Post
    Isn't that exactly what AE bracketing does?

    AE bracketing will help with handheld HDR, together with continuous shooting mode.
    simply put, with the DR of most cameras these days,

    i'm not sure what sort of AE bracketing your camera does, but mine can do a -2 to +2 EV exposure automatically.

    in that range, frankly speaking, most of the time you do not need hdr. but of course if you have an older model (like my k100d) then it may be applicable.

    i do not endorse handheld hdr in any way. even if you are able to brace yourself by leaning on something, or proning on a ledge, giving alright overlapping of exposures, this would certainly limit your composition.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •