Thread: Newbie question regards to flashgun and ISO

Default Newbie question regards to flashgun and ISO

Hi there, I'm new in photography and just wonder know in what suituation we use flash and use ISO with higher setting?

Can we shoot insect without using flash but just set the ISO higher like 1600 > ? Actually wanted to get a more natural lighting rather then sometimes having harsh light directly on the object.

Another example if I want to shoot fireworks (those hold on hands) what setting should I set as? tripod a must?

Sorry I'm still very new in photography, may asked some silly question
    But hope to ask more, understand more and learn more.

Default Re: Newbie question regards to flashgun and ISO

Flash can be rather natural too, depending on technique(bounce card, light sphere..ect ect)

you can increase the ISO but this results in digital noise grain.

fireworks you would have to use a tripod to expose nice trails

Quote Originally Posted by noob117 View Post
    Flash can be rather natural too, depending on technique(bounce card, light sphere..ect ect)

you can increase the ISO but this results in digital noise grain.

fireworks you would have to use a tripod to expose nice trails
    Hi noob117,

I dont have the bounce card, light sphere etc...let me try out some shot without using flash but just set the ISO higher and see the result. Never try before.

For the firework, ok a tripod is a must then how about the setting? flash? (I never take any nightshot before.....)

wat camera r u using?? is ISO 1600 still acceptable? is it very noisy? if it's not, by all means use it.. but if u r shooting insects, u will want all the details u can get and setting at 1600 will lose alot of details if your cam can't make it at 1600... you can try using those ring flash specially for marco shots.

as for the fireworks, do a search in the forum.. there's alot of tips on shooting fireworks.. to me, tripod is 1 of the must have equipment for shooting fireworks..