Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 32 of 32

Thread: a new lense or telecope

  1. #21
    Member gymak90's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    The Far North
    Posts
    1,448

    Default Re: a new lense or telecope

    Quote Originally Posted by Daedalus Trent View Post
    hmm...not to mention a nikkor TC costs a few hundred more than a sigma TC

    though, it'll take a few years for me save up that sum, i'll do it!
    I see many getting a Kenko TC instead. Should be few hundred less than a nikkor TC.

    Haha wow such determination! Nikon can expected rise in sales in a few year's time
    The best things in life are free.

  2. #22

    Default Re: a new lense or telecope

    Quote Originally Posted by smalltake View Post
    You are cruel man!!! .........
    Oh no!!! You are mistaken. I'm not cruel... I'm just evil
    D3S|N70-200|N24-70|N24-85|N50f1.4|N35f2|SB800|SB900|Yashica GS|S95
    www.flickr.com/photos/davidktw

  3. #23

    Default Re: a new lense or telecope

    I have seen posting on TC working on all Nikon lens, and I would like to point out that it might not be true.

    Observe the image below (courtesy of Ken Rockwell Website)


    The lens component is protuding, so there are alot of Nikon lens not compatible with it. You end up colliding the rear lens with this front lens of the TC.
    If it is not compatible, don't attempt it. You end up damaging your lens. Also I assume there are some assumption on the positioning of the lens to the TC itself. 70-200 works fine because if you notice, the lens rear component is all the way inside the lens, even if you focus to the shortest focal length, it is still quite deep inside the lens, so it will not collide at all. Try your 18-200, you will know it doesn't even mount. Even if it does mount, you better try all focal length and make sure it doesn't touch the lens.
    D3S|N70-200|N24-70|N24-85|N50f1.4|N35f2|SB800|SB900|Yashica GS|S95
    www.flickr.com/photos/davidktw

  4. #24
    Member gymak90's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    The Far North
    Posts
    1,448

    Default Re: a new lense or telecope

    Quote Originally Posted by David Kwok View Post
    I have seen posting on TC working on all Nikon lens, and I would like to point out that it might not be true.

    Observe the image below (courtesy of Ken Rockwell Website)


    The lens component is protuding, so there are alot of Nikon lens not compatible with it. You end up colliding the rear lens with this front lens of the TC.
    If it is not compatible, don't attempt it. You end up damaging your lens. Also I assume there are some assumption on the positioning of the lens to the TC itself. 70-200 works fine because if you notice, the lens rear component is all the way inside the lens, even if you focus to the shortest focal length, it is still quite deep inside the lens, so it will not collide at all. Try your 18-200, you will know it doesn't even mount. Even if it does mount, you better try all focal length and make sure it doesn't touch the lens.
    Wow thanks for informing. Or else I would have gladly thought that an AF-S teleconverter will obviously work for all AF-S lenses.

    Hmm, in this case, it seems like Nikon has designed the TC poorly. Not enough thought went into the designing.
    The best things in life are free.

  5. #25

    Default Re: a new lense or telecope

    Quote Originally Posted by gymak90 View Post
    Wow thanks for informing. Or else I would have gladly thought that an AF-S teleconverter will obviously work for all AF-S lenses.

    Hmm, in this case, it seems like Nikon has designed the TC poorly. Not enough thought went into the designing.
    Well, its not Nikon alone, its the same with Canon. Maybe its just meant to be that way? Maybe the IQ is better like that? If they extend the mount is tantamount to putting on an extension tube infront of it... focusing & all may be different, just guessing of course.
    Looking for Canon 100mm F2 USM :)

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Singapore, east-ish
    Posts
    2,291

    Default Re: a new lense or telecope

    Quote Originally Posted by gymak90 View Post
    I see many getting a Kenko TC instead. Should be few hundred less than a nikkor TC.

    Haha wow such determination! Nikon can expected rise in sales in a few year's time


    But Kenko's don't work on Sigmas

  7. #27

    Default Re: a new lense or telecope

    Quote Originally Posted by David Kwok View Post
    I have seen posting on TC working on all Nikon lens, and I would like to point out that it might not be true.

    Observe the image below (courtesy of Ken Rockwell Website)


    The lens component is protuding, so there are alot of Nikon lens not compatible with it. You end up colliding the rear lens with this front lens of the TC.
    If it is not compatible, don't attempt it. You end up damaging your lens. Also I assume there are some assumption on the positioning of the lens to the TC itself. 70-200 works fine because if you notice, the lens rear component is all the way inside the lens, even if you focus to the shortest focal length, it is still quite deep inside the lens, so it will not collide at all. Try your 18-200, you will know it doesn't even mount. Even if it does mount, you better try all focal length and make sure it doesn't touch the lens.
    Interesting... I never knew anything about that... Thanks!

  8. #28

    Default Re: a new lense or telecope

    Quote Originally Posted by Daedalus Trent View Post


    But Kenko's don't work on Sigmas
    I thought they're universal? if they mount they should work?
    Looking for Canon 100mm F2 USM :)

  9. #29

    Default Re: a new lense or telecope

    Kenko TC not good for sigmas and nikon lens. Very flimsy built and lots of hunting. A no no
    Last edited by Fumio; 27th December 2008 at 05:02 PM.

  10. #30
    Member gymak90's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    The Far North
    Posts
    1,448

    Default Re: a new lense or telecope

    Quote Originally Posted by ombre View Post
    Well, its not Nikon alone, its the same with Canon. Maybe its just meant to be that way? Maybe the IQ is better like that? If they extend the mount is tantamount to putting on an extension tube infront of it... focusing & all may be different, just guessing of course.
    I used a canon 2x TC before, for a day. I remember the canon TC was much thicker, as in longer. But I can't recall if the front element of the TC protrudes.

    Quote Originally Posted by Daedalus Trent View Post


    But Kenko's don't work on Sigmas
    That is why I said: convert your Sigmas to Nikkors.
    The best things in life are free.

  11. #31

    Default Re: a new lense or telecope

    Quote Originally Posted by Fumio View Post
    Kenko TC not good for sigmas and nikon lens. Very flimsy built and lots of hunting. A no no
    Thought they were very well reviewed though?! I was going to plan for 1.4 Kenko TC + 135L...

    Quote Originally Posted by gymak90 View Post
    I used a canon 2x TC before, for a day. I remember the canon TC was much thicker, as in longer. But I can't recall if the front element of the TC protrudes.
    I've never held one, but from my readings, the Mark 1 protudes out a lot, the new mark 2 has a little more mount tubing, thus less protrusion.
    Looking for Canon 100mm F2 USM :)

  12. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Singapore, east-ish
    Posts
    2,291

    Default Re: a new lense or telecope

    Quote Originally Posted by ombre View Post
    Thought they were very well reviewed though?! I was going to plan for 1.4 Kenko TC + 135L...
    Don't know about Canon lenses...but Kenko TCs and Sigma lenses as a no-go

    The focus'll just oscillate like a pendulum and not lock even in bright light!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •