Thread: Retrenched

Default Retrenched

1. in what area is critique to be sought?

I would like to sought critique in any form for this photo with accordance to the title I had in mind when I took the shot..

With this shot, I would like to leverage on the inverted chairs that signified retrenched workers and the mrt behind with a 'city location board' signified that they are returning to the suburbs..

3. under what circumstance is the picture taken? (physical conditions/emotions)

it was drizzling but the sun light was good.. no edit done to the photo.

4. what the critique seeker personally thinks of the picture

I am a newbie to photography and have only gotten my 450d for less than a month. But this is one shot where by I had the theme in mind and am felt satisfied with.

thanks

Default Re: Retrenched

just a thought.. the picture was taken at the soon-to-be-opened MRT station (Bras Basah), so my first impression was that it's more of a furnishing of an upcoming MRT station, so doesn't give me the "retrenched" feel.. however, if i'm not singaporean and don't know about the soon-to-be-opened station, the picture could work for me as "retrenched". imho, if the picture was taken just a little higher, i would be able to see more chairs and get a better feel on the number of chairs out there..

If I haven't read ur writeup, I wouldn't get what you're trying to say with ur photo.

I would prefer a more DOF and I would like to see more of the chairs.
    Just my 2cents

a pretty interesting shot if you're considering only the lower half, the top half (with may too much headroom) i feel doesn't add much to the shot.

you say this shot mirrors the retrenchments that are going on.. however you have to remember that the shot has to speak for itself. without your writeup, in no way would i have thought that you would be talking about retrenchment.