Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: notebook for 3d appplications

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    east
    Posts
    468

    Default notebook for 3d appplications

    notebook for 3D applications
    i am going to purchase a notebook for 3d applications such as autodesk, lightscape, viz and for photoshop.

    i was going to order the dell 8600 inspiron with 1.6Ghz, 512 mb RAM with Nividia FX Go 5650 128mb vid card
    this will set me back at 3800.

    however they have a dedicated notebook for such 3d applications with the Nvidia Quadro Fx Go 700 128 MB vid card - Precision M60.

    the basic unit for the m60 with 1.4 Ghz with 512 mb RAM is already 4500..and to bump it up to 1.6 GHz, it will cost approx 5000.

    Can any kind soul pls advise me whether the quadro card is an overkill (eg i will not see an immediate difference in capabilities and the like.)

    Or if i am going to get the m60 bcos of the quadro card will the 1.4Ghz negate the performance of the machine?
    How big a difference will it be btw 1.4Ghz n 1.6 Ghz..

    Do i even need a 128mb card (64mb?) and just focus on CPU and RAM(1Gig)?

    i am really at a loss...all advise will be greatly appreciated.

    Thank u.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Behind the viewfinder...
    Posts
    5,851

    Default

    Hahahaha... BUY A MAC!

    or how about going for something with the ATI 9xxx series GFX card in it... ??

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jherek
    notebook for 3D applications
    i am going to purchase a notebook for 3d applications such as autodesk, lightscape, viz and for photoshop.

    i was going to order the dell 8600 inspiron with 1.6Ghz, 512 mb RAM with Nividia FX Go 5650 128mb vid card
    this will set me back at 3800.

    however they have a dedicated notebook for such 3d applications with the Nvidia Quadro Fx Go 700 128 MB vid card - Precision M60.

    the basic unit for the m60 with 1.4 Ghz with 512 mb RAM is already 4500..and to bump it up to 1.6 GHz, it will cost approx 5000.

    Can any kind soul pls advise me whether the quadro card is an overkill (eg i will not see an immediate difference in capabilities and the like.)

    Or if i am going to get the m60 bcos of the quadro card will the 1.4Ghz negate the performance of the machine?
    How big a difference will it be btw 1.4Ghz n 1.6 Ghz..

    Do i even need a 128mb card (64mb?) and just focus on CPU and RAM(1Gig)?

    i am really at a loss...all advise will be greatly appreciated.

    Thank u.
    The ATI 9xxx series and the Quadro is a different class altogether.
    The notebook is going to be used for 3D rendering not games.

    The Quadro chipset is better suited for the task, despite the lower CPU speed of 1.4 vs 1.6

    The CPU speed difference of 0.2Ghz is not a significiant difference.

    Instead of bumping up the speed from 1.4 to 1.6, use the cash to up the RAM.

    The M60 can go up to 2GB of RAM max.

    3D applications are VERY memory intensive.

    by the way, according to dell's website, adding another piece of 512Mb 333mhz DDR SDRAM costs $500+, maybe you can find out the RAM prices in SLS and see if it is cheaper to get from SLS instead.
    DELL's RAM is usually more expensive.
    Last edited by Winston; 14th September 2003 at 12:26 PM.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    east
    Posts
    468

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SniperD
    Hahahaha... BUY A MAC!

    or how about going for something with the ATI 9xxx series GFX card in it... ??
    A mac is bloody useless..!
    it can't run auto desk,lightscape n viz..

    mmm..the closest thing would be the Ibm T40P with only 14" screen..64mb ATI FireGL9000..

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    east
    Posts
    468

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Winston
    by the way, according to dell's website, adding another piece of 512Mb 333mhz DDR SDRAM costs $500+, maybe you can find out the RAM prices in SLS and see if it is cheaper to get from SLS instead.
    DELL's RAM is usually more expensive.

    btw..do u think it wold be cheaper to order the notebook with 256 mb RAM then buying RAM from other sources wld save me some money?
    Sorry i havent done my research..

  6. #6
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    I bought additional 256MB at only $139, think now the price should be much cheaper IMHO.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    In the void.
    Posts
    1,323

    Default

    Not very advisable to use a notebook for 3D applications unless you have got lotsa RAM and a big screen. You need the big screen because if you have lotsa vectors in wireframe, it tends to get very messy.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    east
    Posts
    468

    Default

    i need the mobility..
    the dell notebooks i'm looking at offer 15.4' wide screens..which is one of the better sizes for viewing..
    one up or two wld be 16" from vaio or 17" from mac n acer..and those are not the specs i wat...

  9. #9

    Default

    Yes, you can buy additional RAM from SLS and plug it in.
    This is what I did to my Dell Inspiron.

    Just make sure that you purchase the correct DDR speed and your're ok.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •