Thread: How to take such photos (equipment, lens, etc needed)

Default How to take such photos (equipment, lens, etc needed)

As hiring a photographer might be costly and I sort of wish to learn the art I'm planning to shoot myself. I'm a designer and I'm planning to sell products that I have design and started a website and in the website there will be a gallery where I want the pictures to be similar to those found on this site. http://www.pmz-store.jp/html/categor...egory14_0.html

White background, neutral lighting, etc. I would like to get some advice from the pros on the kind of equipment I will need to achieve this sort of effect? I already have a Sony A350 plus an entry level zoom lens. I will probably need a specialized lens I guess. I hope to keep my total budget down to S$1,000.

Of course equipment is not the only thing I need. I'll need to know camera settings, etc and I'll do some learning here and there.

Thanks for the help guys.

Blog Entries

Default Re: How to take such photos (equipment, lens, etc needed)

1st you need a tripod
    a good understanding of angle of view
    a nice clean background, but since you are a designer, you should know how to edgeout using photoshop
    a light tent (google it)
    and lights

similar discussion which could be helpful:
    http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=260343

Thanks for the help. I just ordered a light tent in one of the mass orders here. Although it's fun to DIY I'll just buy a proper one to save time. What kind of lights would you recommend and how about achieving a uniform, diffused light so there are no shadow? is lighting from both top and side a good idea?

Quote Originally Posted by AenTan View Post