Thread: Webhosting for photography based website

Thumbs down Webhosting for photography based website

Greetings everyone!

I am currently building my own website to showcase my photography portfolio. The thing is, I do know basic knowledge (based on my previous experience on html and it was 8 years ago) of creating a website. Doing some catching up now and currently trying using SlideshowPro to showcase my works.

The problem is, I am now planning to have my website hosted by a webhosting company (I want my own domain). I have zero experience in publishing it to a commercial (or paid) webhost since in my previous experience of creating a website, I used free webhosting service (geocities).

I understand webhosting services do provide different packages for different needs. Now what I would like to know is

1. What is the best webhosting service available that suits a photography website.

2. Is it such a hassle to upload your files and have it running on the net? I came across terms that I'm not familiar with such as using FTP to upload your files, SQL (totally clueless what is this), database management etc. Problem is I thought that after I had build my website, then that's it. Never thought of coming across those terms.

So, can anyone please shed some lights to me on this?
    FYI: I don't have any formal background on website development, just that it happened I learnt basic html from a friend 8 years ago

Default Re: Webhosting for photography based website

To save you some time and effort to create a professional looking photography site, I would suggest getting a pre-design flash template from www.bludomain.com After chosing the design of your choice, they will host the files and apply the domain name for you. You just have to login and configure the images/songs/colours/text to suit your needs. Damage is from US$200 for 1 yr of hosting.

http://www.3ix.org/sys/aff.php?aff=5790