Thread: Shooting fishes in tank

Question Shooting fishes in tank

Hi bros and sis, i'm an arowana hobbyist. Bought a Nikon D40 DSLR last year to take pictures of my arowana in the tank. As my tanks are outdoors, there'll be some reflection when I take the pictures. Any idea how to resolve this problem without using flashes? Will polarising filters help remove these reflections?

Default Re: Shooting fishes in tank

you can:

a) Bounce the flash
    b) Off shoe flash
    c) buy a D40 underwater casing (best option... BUY BUY BUY!!!)

CP doesn't really help much if the flash is direct.

Search the forum for 'arowana' - you are not the only one having these fishes and a camera

Quote Originally Posted by skylo0701 View Post
    Hi bros and sis, i'm an arowana hobbyist. Bought a Nikon D40 DSLR last year to take pictures of my arowana in the tank. As my tanks are outdoors, there'll be some reflection when I take the pictures. Any idea how to resolve this problem without using flashes? Will polarising filters help remove these reflections?
    Outdoors? Line the sides and back of tank with black paper. Use a screen to block off light from the top (from the tank to your camera0
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

There was a thread somewhere in CS too previously, where the flash was placed at the back of the tank. That was pretty cool. Too bad mine already has Oyama black on the back.

As always, don't forget to clean the glass surface first (very noticeable if you don't) and heh, shoot preferably after WC.
    -------------------------------
    Endure. In enduring grow strong.

Shoot at night, there will be less reflection. It's very difficult to block all reflections.
    Best way is to get plenty of lights in the tank. If light is brighter in the tank than no reflection.
    Place as many flash as possible on top of the tank. See attached picture. I use tank light
    and 3 flash on top. Finally use PP to rid whatever reflection that manage to get thru.