Thread: Satay!!!!!

Default Satay!!!!!

Hello everyone! I'm still learning about food photography and here's another of my try.

I would like to get feedback on composition and focusing and how to better improve this picture.

I took this picture using Fujifilm F50fd, auto and macro mode.

Hope to hear some suggestions!
    Last edited by poullain; 3rd December 2008 at 09:00 PM.

Default Re: Satay!!!!!

Your last post was only 6 days ago... Wonder if that'll squeak by the "1 post per week" rule...
    Alpha

besides the juicy appearance of the satay meat, nothing else about this photo is impressive. There are a number of distracting elements in the photo, which your thin depth-of-field does not hide.
    1) there's a finger at the 2 o'clock position.
    2) something white at the 12 o'clock position has 'merged' with the ketupat
    3) position of the sauce bowl (looks empty) is poor.
    Exploring! :)

The composition here isn't nice. Doesn't whet my appetite.
    But then again, if I'm not mistaken, food photography is not easy.

IMO there are too many elements in this image taking the attention off from the subject, which is your Satay.

I agree with Pyeel food photography is not easy.

For this picture
    1. The sauce bowl to be remove off, if your focus is on the satay plate.
    2. Those onions/cucumbers/satays can be rearrange to place them nicely on the plate.
    3. Satay types can be also rearrange into chicken or beef etc in sections together.
    4. Make sure no other obstructions are in the picture like extra unwanted things inside the picture.
    5. The dripping of oil onto the plate probably can clean up to make it more clean.
    6. Focusing is ok as can see the focus is at the satays.

Hope to see more of your food pics soon.
    キヤノン 450D + 5D2 + 5D3 + 6D + 富士フイルム XP1 :)