Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Do i need a transformer

  1. #1

    Default Do i need a transformer

    Hi everyone,

    I'm planning on a trip to Taiwan and I understand that the voltage there is 110 . I need to charge my camera/handphone batteries there.

    What I would like to enquire is, do I need to bring a step up transformer ?

    Hope to get some response from seasoned travellers.

    Regards,

  2. #2
    Moderator diver-hloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Somewhere North
    Posts
    5,201

    Default Re: Do i need a transformer

    Hi.... how about checking if the charger you will be bringing, is the Mutil-Voltage type. Most modern charger could be use world-wide. Look for the voltage 110-240V on the charger.

    Scuba & Father... For Life

  3. #3

    Default Re: Do i need a transformer

    Quote Originally Posted by Bilabila View Post
    I'm planning on a trip to Taiwan and I understand that the voltage there is 110 . I need to charge my camera/handphone batteries there.

    What I would like to enquire is, do I need to bring a step up transformer ?,
    Not necessary, check if your AC adapters marked 110v-240v.

    Most AC adapters of mobile phones will accept dual voltage. All you need is a socket adapter.

    I am uncertain about camera adapters. Mine says dual voltage, not sure about yours.
    Last edited by photobum; 1st December 2008 at 08:20 AM.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Chestnut
    Posts
    3,171

    Default Re: Do i need a transformer

    .....used computer and phone charger on my last trip a month ago with no problem

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    floating in space.
    Posts
    795

    Default Re: Do i need a transformer

    This transformer confirm can help you charge

    D∞X, 1-∞ mm F0.17. I like to show off my equipment list because I'm pro. My Flickr

  6. #6

    Default Re: Do i need a transformer

    Thank you for all the replies.
    It has been most fruitful.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Do i need a transformer

    transformer has many meanings. I was thinking of sion for a moment.

  8. #8
    Member/Tangshooter Redsun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    7,932

    Default Re: Do i need a transformer

    hmm i've been there before
    and i didnt use a transformer for my canon charger

  9. #9
    Senior Member wrx_sti_22b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Compassvale Lane
    Posts
    4,952

    Default Re: Do i need a transformer

    Quote Originally Posted by entropy_h View Post
    This transformer confirm can help you charge

    This Transformer looks like the old type, got new type a not?

  10. #10
    Member Static's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Surfing soft porn in CS
    Posts
    1,079

    Default Re: Do i need a transformer

    You need a traveller adaptor

    Transformer sounds overkill ...



    Anyway, got voltage transformers... autobots... and changi transformers ...
    陳綺貞 2010 [夏季練習曲] 巡迴演唱會 Cheer Concert 13 Nov 2010 MAX Pavilion@Singapore Expo

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    floating in space.
    Posts
    795

    Default Re: Do i need a transformer

    Quote Originally Posted by wrx_sti_22b View Post
    This Transformer looks like the old type, got new type a not?
    The new type sucks. The old type is the best.
    D∞X, 1-∞ mm F0.17. I like to show off my equipment list because I'm pro. My Flickr

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Lintas
    Posts
    208

    Default Re: Do i need a transformer

    Like other said, if your charger is rated 110v, it's usable. However, do take note of the socket in Taiwan is different from Sinagpore, M'sia.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •