Good optical zoom
    Poor night shots
    b.) Olympus C2040
    Good day/nite shots
    Noise issue ~ can be solved with firmware upgrade
    c.) Minolta S304
    Cheap 3Mpix DC for the price
    Poor camera mounting point

Wodering anyone has anything else to add. Comments gathered generally from forums and reviews.

I am in favour of the FujiFilm 2800z because of the zoom features, but a little concern with the sensitivity @ ISO100 only, my budget is less than $700 for the camera. Need a simple model for starter. Anyone any other suitable models to add? Or possbility any pros and cons I have left out above.

Thanks....

Default Re: Fuji 2800z or Olympus C2040 or Minolta S304

Originally posted by midreef
    Newbie here....

Looking @ the following models
    a.) FujiFilm FinePix 2800z
    Good optical zoom
    Poor night shots
    b.) Olympus C2040
    Good day/nite shots
    Noise issue ~ can be solved with firmware upgrade
    c.) Minolta S304
    Cheap 3Mpix DC for the price
    Poor camera mounting point

Wodering anyone has anything else to add. Comments gathered generally from forums and reviews.

I am in favour of the FujiFilm 2800z because of the zoom features, but a little concern with the sensitivity @ ISO100 only, my budget is less than $700 for the camera. Need a simple model for starter. Anyone any other suitable models to add? Or possbility any pros and cons I have left out above.

Thanks....
    Olympus C-2040z is ideal for a beginner learning digital photography cos all the manual features + settings u need r there in the DC.

But if if don't wanna worry shutter spped, F-stop and stuffs...then the Fujifilm 2800 zoom is an excellent choice too with a pretty good feature set (esp. the big 6x optical zoom!!!!)... but nite shot capability is limited + there's no way to select ISO (anyway, at higher ISO there is more noise, no big loss).