Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Before Digital, Beyond 35mm > Medium Format

Medium Format The next step up from 35mm

Old 4th September 2003   #1
MikaMatin

Default Medium Format Users

Hola amigos,

I was wondering if any C'sers here are still using the Medium Format? Is there any dedicated website that caters Medium Format users here? I was thinking if there is/are someone/others who have a started a dedicated MF(pardon the pun) portal.
Old 5th September 2003   #2
roti

yo.......hasselblad & pentax user......
Old 5th September 2003   #3
kingpin

mamiya 645 pro-tl user.
Sponsored Link
Old 5th September 2003   #4
MikaMatin

So far 2 users responded to my query

I presume majority of CS'ers here are 35 and digiz users?

Roti & kingpin:

U guys always shoot with ya stuffs or once in a while? Is there any website that u guys often surf and deliberates on MF?
Old 5th September 2003   #5
marios_pittas

Contax 645.. ex-Bronica 6x6, ex-Mamiya RZ, ex-Mamiya 645!
Old 5th September 2003   #6
marios_pittas

Originally Posted by MikaMatin
U guys always shoot with ya stuffs or once in a while?
Always find it hard to leave it at home when I really have to.. cannot imagine life with 35mm!

Quote:
Is there any website that u guys often surf and deliberates on MF?
www.photo.net is a great resource
Old 5th September 2003   #7
MikaMatin

Thanks for the fast reply pittas

I believe u must've been bowled over by the pictures taken with a Zeiss lens right?

pittas: Any vast difference between the Schneider and Zeiss lens then since u bought the Contax 645? Thanks for the resource link. As for me, i alwways go to www.ephotozine.com

Does anybody in CS have set up a dedicated Medium Format website? If there isn't one, would u like to set it up?
Old 5th September 2003   #8
kex

i'm using mamiya RB67 and a rolleicord VB,i shoot 135 most of the time,when i get a nice shot on it,i usually go back with my MF for a bigger slides
photo.net host a MF forum which is quite active.
Old 5th September 2003   #9
dreamseeker

Hi MikaMatin,

Check out the following site. There is many links there to other Medium format sites.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/asiaTLRphotography/
Old 6th September 2003   #10
MikaMatin

Thanks for the links guys.

I've visited them and can say that it's quite an impressive and helpful website.

Always find it hard to leave it at home when I really have to.. cannot imagine life with 35mm!<===pittas u stated this. Do u mean to say that if the 35 hadn't existed, u would gleefully be contented with Medium Formats?

kex, do u always lug around ya RB67? It must have weighed a ton huh?
Old 6th September 2003   #11
marios_pittas

i alwways go to www.ephotozine.com
I've visited them and can say that it's quite an impressive and helpful website.
First time I heard of them.. however very very good web site! Thanks for the link..

Always find it hard to leave it at home when I really have to.. cannot imagine life with 35mm!<===pittas u stated this. Do u mean to say that if the 35 hadn't existed, u would gleefully be contented with Medium Formats?
I used to carry an RZ system so the 645 is much much lighter.. As i do not shoot sports.. yeah.. it is only a question of where I am going is safe for the camera.. if it is safe, then 645 is there with me!
Old 7th September 2003   #12
MikaMatin

no problemos mi amigo pittas

Wow u were carrying ard an RZ b4? Gosh, i think u must have big biceps by now

yo kex, u still around? Do u still use ya rolleicord VB? It must have cost a bomb huh?

Some ppl say that by using a 35 when taking landscapes is sufficient but nonetheless, most say it's best to use a Medium F cam. Do u think that there's a loss in quality/contrast/sharpness when one uses the former?

Muchas gracias
Old 8th September 2003   #13
kex

i dun lug my RB67 around la,only on planned shoot.too big and heavy for streetphotography liao.Usually will recce around with 35mm,if find nice spot then go back with RB67 for a bigger slides

and yes MikaMatin,i still use my Rolleicord VB for night exposure,coz the shutter speed *run* liao not accurate enuff for slides shooting.
I got this camera from my dad,i believe it doesn't cost a bomb.
you should be able to get one rolleiflex for ard S$400~
Bigger is always better when it comes to slides or negatives..give medium format a try by doing some close up of flowers on slides..shoot the same thing using 35mm and get the 2 slides to compare on a lightbox side by side..u will be blown away~~~
Old 8th September 2003   #14
Ian

Hola amigos,

I was wondering if any C'sers here are still using the Medium Format? Is there any dedicated website that caters Medium Format users here? I was thinking if there is/are someone/others who have a started a dedicated MF(pardon the pun) portal.
I do a lot of medium format work professionally, both film and digital as well as large format.

There are several medium format forums online, so a search at google.com and you'll find them.
Old 8th September 2003   #15
Dagger

One more little Hassy here...
Old 9th September 2003   #16
MikaMatin

Originally Posted by Ian
I do a lot of medium format work professionally, both film and digital as well as large format.

There are several medium format forums online, so a search at google.com and you'll find them.

Hi Ian,

Thanks for your input.

I've done my homework on medium format cams for a few months and frankly speaking, i'm amazed by its quality output. However, i'm not sure on which camera should i start off with; this includes the budget that i've had in mind and the format that i would like to start off playing with, as mostly Asians like to fiddle with Mamiya and Hasseys and Europeans like to play with Bronicas,Hasseys, Rolleis and Kievs.
Which cam do u mostly use for your professional work and which is your favourite one?

Hi Dagger,

Which Hassey are u using now?
Old 9th September 2003   #17
Nescafe

Default If you love B&W...

take a look at this (superb B&W portraitures, mostly taken with Hassy w Zeiss 120f4 Makro Planar lens)...

http://www.heylloyd.com/toc.htm

Enjoy!

Old 9th September 2003   #18
sljm

Mamiya 645 pro user here

Mamiya.com also has a MF forum but it's mainly catered to mamiya users
Old 9th September 2003   #19
MikaMatin

Originally Posted by Nescafe
take a look at this (superb B&W portraitures, mostly taken with Hassy w Zeiss 120f4 Makro Planar lens)...

http://www.heylloyd.com/toc.htm

Enjoy!
Hi Caffeine lover,

Glorious website indeed! I love B & W! Do u use a Hassey too?

Hi sljm,

So are u an active 645 user now?
Old 9th September 2003   #20
Nescafe

Hi Caffeine lover,

Glorious website indeed! I love B & W! Do u use a Hassey too?
ya, a like-new old Hassy (dunno which model, but it says "500Classic", whatever it is )

cheers,
Nescafe

Closed Thread