Thread: Any relationship between, Apr. Speed, etc

Default Any relationship between, Apr. Speed, etc

Hi

I am a newbie with a new SLR camera.

I wonder there is any calculation or rule of thumb to getting setting right.

Eg, if I shoot in ISO 100, how they relate to shutter speed, aperture, etc. I shot many times, I just rotate the knob just to hope everything is correct. How do I know e.g if I set Apreture in AV mode, what speed or Iso should I do to get a good shot.

Can a good light meter work all this out for me?

Thanks,

Blur/

Default Re: Any relationship between, Apr. Speed, etc

google is your friend.

Read this thread first, hope it helps.
    http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=309544

I'm not sure what camera you are using but if you notice in your viewfinder that is a gauge that moves left and right depending on the exposure. Best would be to get the needle/line in the center if not left or right depending on what you really want. Play around with apperture mode and you will see the relation between Apperture and Speed. Once you get the hang of it, you can start playing with Manual Mode. =D Enjoy!

try to have a shutter speed of at least 1/(focal length)

i.e. @ 50mm, shutter speed is 1/50

Thanks. Now I see shutter equal to focal length. How about Aperture and Speed and ISO?

Will Google, but anyone got quick tip, greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by John E View Post
    Thanks. Now I see shutter equal to focal length. How about Aperture and Speed and ISO?

Will Google, but anyone got quick tip, greatly appreciated.

Thanks

No, you still have it wrong. I suggest you start by reading your manual.

and if you have no idea about the relationship between those factors, why even get a DSLR? Or just shoot in auto mode till you've learned.
    Alpha

Nope, there's no maggie-mee solution to understanding the basics of light and the basics of how cameras work. Sorry.

If you want a quick tip, just shoot in Program all the time.