Thread: Shooting at school hall - advise needed

Default Shooting at school hall - advise needed

Hi,

I am new to photography and my son's childcare is hold their concert in a school hall. Want to capture some nice shoot (hopefully) of him in his first ever concert involvement.

I am using D60, 18-55mm VR, 55-200mm VR, SB-600.

I guess I will be using the 55-200mm VR more often since I doubt I can get too close to the stage.

Do I need to use flash? If yes, do you think the ceiling in a school hall is to high to bounce? Or good enough? If too high, should I use a bounce card? Diffuser needed?

Looking forward to your advise. Thanks.

Regards,
    KELTONG

Default Re: Shooting at school hall - advise needed

shoot straight forward since u can't get close and high celling with yr 55-200.

Try diffuser on and off to see the harshness of the flash.

Quote Originally Posted by jnet6 View Post
    shoot straight forward since u can't get close and high celling with yr 55-200.

Try diffuser on and off to see the harshness of the flash.
    Thanks...in the event if I can fight my way to the front to be near the stage, what should I do?

Quote Originally Posted by keltong View Post
    Thanks...in the event if I can fight my way to the front to be near the stage, what should I do?
    go upfront, change to wide angle. flash forward.. if too harsh then turn flash head up 45 deg else 90 deg. remember to increase ev on yr flash when pointing up.

You got to do your own trial and error on the spot.

Quote Originally Posted by jnet6 View Post
    go upfront, change to wide angle. flash forward.. if too harsh then turn flash head up 45 deg else 90 deg. remember to increase ev on yr flash when pointing up.

You got to do your own trial and error on the spot.
    Ok...maybe I try and go slightly early to test out and recce the place. Find a good spot.