Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Canon

Canon Exhilaration Of Sight

Old 2nd September 2003   #1
Michael Ang
Gallery Subscriber

Default Preorder of 300D at CP

CP taking orders now for the 300D... price they say is around 2k with kit.. and only sold with kit.. and not body alone...

>2k? I thought it would be around 1.7k only....

expected to be available by mid of this mth.. but was told only a few pieces will be available...

sigh... there's goes my hope of getting one liao...
Old 2nd September 2003   #2
hong2

Like that?

MO from US or Malaysia?
How is it that we are more expensive than US?
What about AP?
CP is pricing themselves out of market...
Old 2nd September 2003   #3
erwinx

Originally Posted by hong2
Like that?

MO from US or Malaysia?
How is it that we are more expensive than US?
What about AP?
CP is pricing themselves out of market...
If there is a pre-order and waiting list for 300Ds at CP in what sense are they pricing themselves of the market?

MO at US$999 - S$1800 + say $60 shipping + $72 GST for a 300D without local warranty
how much money are you saving actually?

duh.
Sponsored Link
Old 2nd September 2003   #4
Jer76

$2k with kit leh.. means lens included? if so then it's quite cheap
Old 2nd September 2003   #5
Falcon

Originally Posted by Jer76
$2k with kit leh.. means lens included? if so then it's quite cheap
Thinking of going back to digital, Jer?
Old 2nd September 2003   #6
Jer76

Originally Posted by Falcon
Thinking of going back to digital, Jer?
Nah.. it's eos30 for me all the way.. film bro film.. i'm still saving for my first L lens
Old 2nd September 2003   #7
NorthernLights

Default wait longer

Originally Posted by Michael Ang

CP taking orders now for the 300D... price they say is around 2k with kit.. and only sold with kit.. and not body alone...

>2k? I thought it would be around 1.7k only....

expected to be available by mid of this mth.. but was told only a few pieces will be available...

sigh... there's goes my hope of getting one liao...
It's always like that with new products.

If it's $2000, then 10D needs to sell at maybe $2800?

After 3-4 months, price will drop as dealers try to outprice one another.

I would say 300D at $1800 w/ lens is fair and 10D at $2580.
Old 3rd September 2003   #8
xmen1977

Originally Posted by Jer76
Nah.. it's eos30 for me all the way.. film bro film.. i'm still saving for my first L lens

OT: yup, still rem my first L lens- EF 17-35f2.8L...
Old 3rd September 2003   #9
mylau

Originally Posted by xmen1977
OT: yup, still rem my first L lens- EF 17-35f2.8L...
hey! that was my first L lens too! i still remember that i bought it at Cathay many years ago..............
Old 3rd September 2003   #10
wacko

Originally Posted by NorthernLights
It's always like that with new products.

If it's $2000, then 10D needs to sell at maybe $2800?

After 3-4 months, price will drop as dealers try to outprice one another.

I would say 300D at $1800 w/ lens is fair and 10D at $2580.
yup, initial pricing of new products is always somewhat on the high side. just got to have patience... or deep pockets...
Old 3rd September 2003   #11
mylau

Originally Posted by wacko
yup, initial pricing of new products is always somewhat on the high side. just got to have patience... or deep pockets...
yup! wait for AP to outprice cathay again...
Old 3rd September 2003   #12
limhousen

At S$2,000, CP is actually selling at or maybe even above recommended retail price.

If Malasia's RRP of RM3,999 can be taken as a fair guide, Singapore's RRP should be closer to S$1,860. Note that shops usually sell at between 15% to 20% below RRP after the initial launch.

BTW, buying with Malaysia warranty is still pretty OK if you drive. The canon office is near to Johore's Carrefour. Just go if something goes wrong with your Camera. At most take you 15-20 mins to drive there from the causeway.
Old 3rd September 2003   #13
jeff49er

I will wait till Xmas time when they likely to come with freebies and also that is bonus time.

I b patient and wait for the price to come down
Old 3rd September 2003   #14
wacko

Originally Posted by limhousen
At S$2,000, CP is actually selling at or maybe even above recommended retail price.

If Malasia's RRP of RM3,999 can be taken as a fair guide, Singapore's RRP should be closer to S$1,860. Note that shops usually sell at between 15% to 20% below RRP after the initial launch.

BTW, buying with Malaysia warranty is still pretty OK if you drive. The canon office is near to Johore's Carrefour. Just go if something goes wrong with your Camera. At most take you 15-20 mins to drive there from the causeway.
shouldn't it be international warranty?
Old 3rd September 2003   #15
limhousen

All digital cameras come with local warranty only.
Old 3rd September 2003   #16
wacko

Originally Posted by limhousen
All digital cameras come with local warranty only.
huh? all?

http://www.canon.com.sg/index.cfm?fu...d_type=service

Old 3rd September 2003   #17
limhousen

I just called Canon Marketing Singapore. They clarified that the International Warranty option is for overseas passport holders only.

I wonder if Canon Malaysia offer the same international warranty option? The Singapore office says that the policy varies from country to country. Japan, as far as I klnow, does not have this option.

Film SLR and lenses used to automatically come with International warranty. I do not know if this is still true.
Old 3rd September 2003   #18
Michael Ang
Gallery Subscriber

i was just wondering if there will be a demo set at tommorrow's Comdex exhibition... But looking at today's computer time.. looks like not likely to have ... since it is such a big deal.. it would be very unusual if Canon can drum it up through the local medias....

i seriously doubt it will be any cheaper by xmas... just realised that all the 10Ds not stock almost everywhere...

looks like Canon playing a strategy game...

morale of story : WE consumer sure to lose...
Closed Thread