Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 38 of 38

Thread: flashes for CLS

  1. #21

    Default Re: flashes for CLS

    Quote Originally Posted by Daedalus Trent View Post
    180 degree angle? You sure? Maybe you ought to read your manual again...

    as for failure to trigger, if the ambient light is too bright, the flash's sensor may not be able to detect commander flash
    (hmm...sounds like some superhero...)
    Of course, strictly speaking it can still be triggered even if the flash is behind the camera, but its better to keep them in the front for better communication. The SB600 manual did not specify, but has a diagram which illustrated (and probably recommended) 60 degrees to the front. (page 60)
    WTB Manfrotto RC4 L Bracket

  2. #22

    Default Re: flashes for CLS

    Quote Originally Posted by Daedalus Trent View Post
    Why SB-800? The CLS interface for the SB-900 is even easier!
    Quote Originally Posted by kkcharles82 View Post
    Absolutely concur!
    SB900 oso costs ~$200 more than SB800 if bought brand new...

  3. #23

    Default Re: flashes for CLS

    Quote Originally Posted by sjackal View Post
    Of course, strictly speaking it can still be triggered even if the flash is behind the camera, but its better to keep them in the front for better communication. The SB600 manual did not specify, but has a diagram which illustrated (and probably recommended) 60 degrees to the front. (page 60)
    ya i face problem of not able to trigger the slaves at times, so a radio trigger will eliminate that problem?
    anyone knows how much cAn e cost of radio trigger range from?

  4. #24
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: flashes for CLS

    Quote Originally Posted by nlghtxx View Post
    ya i face problem of not able to trigger the slaves at times, so a radio trigger will eliminate that problem?
    anyone knows how much cAn e cost of radio trigger range from?
    Good ones tat are reliable?? 3 digits at least.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Singapore, east-ish
    Posts
    2,291

    Default Re: flashes for CLS

    haha, resurrecting this thread again since i'm thinking of doing exactly what TS mentioned

    My question is, the command flash signal flickers a few times then causes the slaves to fire.

    On the other hand, it is stated that these 'Hotshoe Optical Slave Flash Trigger' (from tagotech) are triggered by another flash.

    So, are these triggers able to sync. with the Nikon CLS or will they fire the slaves the moment they detect the 1st flicker of the CLS command flash?

    Pardon me if this is a dumb question

  6. #26
    Senior Member jnet6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    not here often anymore
    Posts
    8,169

    Default Re: flashes for CLS

    Quote Originally Posted by Daedalus Trent View Post
    haha, resurrecting this thread again since i'm thinking of doing exactly what TS mentioned

    My question is, the command flash signal flickers a few times then causes the slaves to fire.

    On the other hand, it is stated that these 'Hotshoe Optical Slave Flash Trigger' (from tagotech) are triggered by another flash.

    So, are these triggers able to sync. with the Nikon CLS or will they fire the slaves the moment they detect the 1st flicker of the CLS command flash?

    Pardon me if this is a dumb question
    optical slave will fire when they detect a flash or a sudden detection in the light at the sensor.

    I got mine triggered when i turn on my room light at times.

  7. #27

    Default Re: flashes for CLS

    Quote Originally Posted by jnet6 View Post
    optical slave will fire when they detect a flash or a sudden detection in the light at the sensor.

    I got mine triggered when i turn on my room light at times.
    Can we say its best used when your the only shooter and when your indoor.

    I am guessing if room lights can trigger it, outdoors; reflections of shinning surface from cars, or car headlights might also trigger them?
    WTB Manfrotto RC4 L Bracket

  8. #28
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: flashes for CLS

    Quote Originally Posted by sjackal View Post
    Can we say its best used when your the only shooter and when your indoor.

    I am guessing if room lights can trigger it, outdoors; reflections of shinning surface from cars, or car headlights might also trigger them?
    Constant light does not trigger it... the sudden flashing of the light does. Like switching on a headlight, etc.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  9. #29
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: flashes for CLS

    usually is when the flash mounted with 'Hotshoe Optical Slave Flash Trigger' placing too close to the fluorescent light, so when the fluorescent flicker, it will trigger the flash.

    if you are using optical slave, your master flash have to set it to manual mode, so it will not trigger the remote flash prematurely, master flash on auto mode will work too, however, you must make sure the sensor of the master flash does not affected by remote flash, causing underexposed or erratic flash output.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  10. #30

    Default Re: flashes for CLS

    If the master flash is on manual it won't be affected by the remote flash... or am I thinking of something else?

  11. #31
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: flashes for CLS

    Quote Originally Posted by YSLee View Post
    If the master flash is on manual it won't be affected by the remote flash... or am I thinking of something else?
    seem you are very confuse...

    if the master flash is set at manual mode, it will not fire pre flash, so won't not trigger the remote flash prematurely.

    and when the master flash is set at manual mode, it will have constant flash out put, irregardless remote flash fire or not.

    If the master flash is set at auto mode, it will cut the power output once the flash sensor read sufficient exposure, the problem will arise if the sensor of the master flash also read the flash from remote flash at the same time, it will not able to produce consistent output, since the master flash can't differential which light is from which light.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  12. #32

    Default Re: flashes for CLS

    Yes, I missed out on one portion of your sentence, which mentioned auto mode. My apologies.

  13. #33
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Hougang Ave. 7
    Posts
    888

    Default Re: flashes for CLS

    What is CLS ?
    Auto flash mode is a mode found in most Nikon flash old and new plus some old flash.
    It auto adjust the flash output according to distance via a sensor on the flash.

  14. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Singapore, east-ish
    Posts
    2,291

    Default Re: flashes for CLS

    There are some ways to rig those kinda optical triggers though, came across them after some research

    But unless you buy real expensive ones, cheaper models negate the wonderful Creative Lighting System i paid for when i bought my SB-600/800!

    Conclusion:
    Save the trouble rigging 'budget' optical/radio triggers and just get a Nikon strobe. At least an SB-600.

  15. #35

    Default Re: flashes for CLS

    Quote Originally Posted by Daedalus Trent View Post
    But unless you buy real expensive ones, cheaper models negate the wonderful Creative Lighting System i paid for when i bought my SB-600/800!

    Conclusion:
    Save the trouble rigging 'budget' optical/radio triggers and just get a Nikon strobe. At least an SB-600.
    Agree with this, its tedious to go one big round thinking to save some money in the end spend money to buy frustration.
    WTB Manfrotto RC4 L Bracket

  16. #36

    Default Re: flashes for CLS

    Personally I consider it a good lesson in flash mechanics.

  17. #37
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Singapore, east-ish
    Posts
    2,291

    Default Re: flashes for CLS

    Quote Originally Posted by YSLee View Post
    Personally I consider it a good lesson in flash mechanics.
    hmm...you have a point (CLS kinda makes it too easy, no?)

    Then again, i can always set my Nikon strobes to manual mode, but i can't use 3rd parties if i need AWL

  18. #38
    Senior Member jnet6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    not here often anymore
    Posts
    8,169

    Default Re: flashes for CLS

    Quote Originally Posted by Daedalus Trent View Post
    hmm...you have a point (CLS kinda makes it too easy, no?)

    Then again, i can always set my Nikon strobes to manual mode, but i can't use 3rd parties if i need AWL
    know your equipment is more important. i've use nikon CLS and other optical slaves. all works well if you know what are you working on.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •