Thread: seeking advice.

Red face seeking advice.

hi! im a completely new member of this forum even though i have been trawling the pages for the past few weeks..im a newbie to photography as well unless you include me borrowing my cousin's film slr once and my dads oly cam and looking at pictures to satisfy my ..

I already gained much by reading numerous posts and books from the library..but i would still appreciate your insight here...erm, ok..i have been using an olympus point and shoot i borrow from my dad and would like to get a dSLR of my own..

i have a budget of about s$1000 to at the most 1400 to buy a body with a std lens and a tele zoom up to 200mm or 300mm ..the thing is i considered nikon D40 at first.. i loved the layout of its buttons and everything was perfect except that i have large hands. the nikon grips felt inadequate. it felt insecure in my hands..even the d80 which i tried purely for the feeling of holding it did not feel 'right' in my hands..only the olympus 520 and sony alpha 200 felt comfortable...actually they were perfect in terms of grip..but for oly the 4/3 system and lack of possible expansion in the future bothered me..that left me with sony which was okay but the lens my gosh they are bloody expensive! ok i realise i can use the older konica minolta lenses..but if i want to upgrade in the future to say a more advanced camera body..it seems that canon and nikon are better options, which leaves me with incompatible lenses as i believe i want to advance as much as i can in photography...my heads spinning already..u see i have been eyeing and saving to buy a dslr for nearly 3 years. im a student see...sigh been waiting since the days of eos 350d and nikon d70..but studies and everything pushed my interest to the side and i can't wait anymore

in short i would like : entry level DSLR + std lens + 70-200/300mm lens of average quality
    gd grip like sony alpha 200 or oly 520