![]() |
|
|
#1 |
|
|
I am going to switzerland and i am bringing my G5 along. I would like to know if the camera will spoilt if i want to bring up to the mountains or alps with temperature of 0 degree.
Will the camera get frozen and cant be used anymore? please tell me how do i protect my camera against very low temperature. |
|
|
#2 |
|
|
There is always a risk when taking pictures in low temperatures. Things like the electronics going hay-wire, battery go flat very fast etc. I would advise you to wrap your DC under thick clothing and take it out only when you want to shoot. Likewise for your spare batteries.
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
|
Is the camera bag sufficient to protect my G5 against low temperature?
|
| Sponsored Link |
|
|
#4 |
|
|
No. you still have to wrap it in thick clothing inside the camera bag.
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
|
http://www.canon.com.sg/index.cfm?fu...ershotg5_specs
its stated Camera Specifications Operating Temperature 0 - 40 °C Humidity 10 - 90 % so if i go up to mountain . which is -5degree, its nt advise to take pics?. or its there any pouch can stand that coolzy temperature?. anymore ideas beside covering it w cloth. |
|
|
#6 |
|
|
Like I said, there is always a risk when comes to electronics...It might just **** up under such low temp. Alternatively, you might want to tuck in under your warm clothing.
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
|
guaranteed no problem in cold weather.... -20 below osso no problem (thats cold enuff to stick to ur skin!!) don worry so much... just make sure if ur camera has condensation dun bring it out to freezing weather too quickly... might freeze up on the lens etc... but 0C is ok lah... usually below -10 then might happen...
big problem is battery life... it drops like SIAO.... bring extras... |
|
|
|
|
#8 | |
|
|
Another thing is to bring a plastic bag. Before you go into a heated room ( say, your hotel ) from the cold outdoors, put your camera in the bag and squeeze out all the air from it, then twist the plastic bag shut. This prevents condensation from forming on your camera and even worse, IN your lens when you enter the room. Condensation will form on your plastic bag instead. Remember to squeeze out all the air for this to be effective. Leave the camera in the plastic bag for 30 -60 minutes to allow it to return to room temperature. |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
|
hi Johnz, do transfer your camera batteries to your pockets to warm them up before shooting. it lenghtens their lifespan.
cheers ![]() |
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
|
Thank bros...
|
![]() |