Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Pentax

Pentax Be Interesting

Old 1st November 2008   #1
taekimon

Default New K100D super user

I've finally got my first dSLR and its the Pentax K100D super + FA 28-80mm.
Got it off from CS-er bolbolito

Can the users here advice what I should be checking out for with this camera?

Just to check, the lens i'm having is for FF bodies rite?
Old 1st November 2008   #2
scorpioh

Default Re: New K100D super user

Yes and it's a good lens. Just shoot and get familiar with the camera before you know if there is anythg wrong with the camera.
Old 1st November 2008   #3
seefei

hi! welcome to the pentax family. dont forget to register in the user thread!

cheers!
Old 1st November 2008   #4
hamustar

It's a great set you have there. I think it's a reasonable pricing too.
Hope you have fun taking photos with it, post your shots in the sticky thread for photos taken with Pentax!
Old 1st November 2008   #5
hjbyeo

and soon you'll b poison ... Limiteds,fa princesses,f*,da*,A n M lenses..

May the force be with you! Just keep shooting!
Old 1st November 2008   #6
taekimon

actually i'm already thinking of getting DA* lenses :P, cos i've always tried to shoot sports with my prosumer and had problems with the slow AF.

as i was asking, is there anything that i shld check/test on this camera i just got to ensure it is working fine? sorry, quite noob to dSLRs.
Old 1st November 2008   #7
Ben Loke

as i was asking, is there anything that i shld check/test on this camera i just got to ensure it is working fine? sorry, quite noob to dSLRs.[/quote]

Welcome to the team.

Perhaps this may help, http://www.dpreview.com/learn/?/Guid...g_guide_01.htm

I understand that in digital cam, the senor has la ife span. BTW, you know the shutter count?
Old 1st November 2008   #8
Gengh
Contributor

Quickly get some DA* lens and test the SDM... There's no other way!
Old 1st November 2008   #9
flowerpot

firstly, welcome to the family ... do join us in our outing...

how to check ? make sure it is able to take a picture lor... next would be read up the manual abit and try all the functions make sure its working lor... if u need help, a good way is to join ur outing, there are alot of kaypos like me that will help you

next...not to pour cold water but what kind of sports you are shooting ? pentax autofocus tracking is not among the best... the DA* lens are superb lens, but dun expect miracles... they do struggle to keep track of very fast moving object... low light can struggle sometimes but if u noe where to focus then this can be overcome... if u need super fast tracking and focusing, then it has to be N or C or others...

but take good pictures it sure can...
Old 2nd November 2008   #10
taekimon

thanks for all the advice. Although it's kinda disappointing to hear that Pentax dSLRs can't match C and N's, i chose pentax because I feel it still has very good build quality and value for money!
Old 2nd November 2008   #11
Gengh
Contributor

Where Pentax looses out is mainly in AF, which is why sports is a bit more of a problem. But the next generation of Pentax bodies starting from the K-m is supposed to have improved AF, so we can all wait, hope and see...
Old 2nd November 2008   #12
hjbyeo

Originally Posted by taekimon View Post
thanks for all the advice. Although it's kinda disappointing to hear that Pentax dSLRs can't match C and N's, i chose pentax because I feel it still has very good build quality and value for money!
Bro, I think you literally took the 'negative' words and piece them together... I really don't think Flowerpot meant that Pentax dSLR can't match C and N's, he meant some features, in particular the AF is still not as fast as that of C and N.

Again, the comparison's got to be apple to apple... so I still think you made a great choice with 100 Super as a start. It's only a photographic tool, just go out there and start shooting.. Join us for the next Meet up!
Old 3rd November 2008   #13
fengwei

Welcome to the Pentaxian's family

Don't worry about what others say. Just show them some good photos you take w/ the much 'inferior' K100D and they'd be very impressed
Old 3rd November 2008   #14
felixcat8888

Welcome to Pentax my friend.

Pentax "Inferior"? Whoever said that has not owned one yet.
Old 3rd November 2008   #15
fengwei

Originally Posted by felixcat8888 View Post
Welcome to Pentax my friend.

Pentax "Inferior"? Whoever said that has not owned one yet.
Oops, sorry

Old 3rd November 2008   #16
alanswan

And not to forget, the winning shot for the "Best Young Photographer Award" this year was shot with a K100D...
Old 3rd November 2008   #17
istDeS

Welcome to pentax family. Just learn more about the camera and shoot more.
Old 3rd November 2008   #18
felixcat8888

Originally Posted by fengwei View Post
Oops, sorry

I know not you lah . . . i was saying other people who always comment that. You are the walking Pentax historian
Old 3rd November 2008   #19
taekimon

Thank you all for replying!
i'm learning to appreciate the dSLR now. Just got a 18-200mm sigma too. Wasn't really impressed by the AF speed though.

Now it seems there's a BBB syndrome kicking in.
Need dry box, SD card, might start considering DA* lenses ... :P

Oh, does anyone has a camera strap for dSLR that you don't need and don't mind giving me ? My seller didn't throw in cos i think it was quite used condition.
Old 3rd November 2008   #20
seefei

Originally Posted by taekimon View Post
Thank you all for replying!
i'm learning to appreciate the dSLR now. Just got a 18-200mm sigma too. Wasn't really impressed by the AF speed though.

Now it seems there's a BBB syndrome kicking in.
Need dry box, SD card, might start considering DA* lenses ... :P

Oh, does anyone has a camera strap for dSLR that you don't need and don't mind giving me ? My seller didn't throw in cos i think it was quite used condition.
i have one that i can let go FOC. But it got the "N****" embroided on it. But not to worry, my strap has the word "N****" on it too.