Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 108

Thread: LX3 and external flash...

  1. #1
    Senior Member erictan8888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,885

    Default LX3 and external flash...

    hi,

    just a couple of questions i hope users of LX3 can help....

    1. if i attach the SB600 to the LX3, wondering if can get full TTL ?

    2. if not then izzit manual ?

    3. if manual, then how to adjust the output of flash so that does not look too harsh?
    i mean does the external flash "communicate" with the LX3 or vice versa so that flash output not too strong ?

    thanks a lot

  2. #2
    Senior Member Anson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    ansonchew.com
    Posts
    8,205

    Default Re: LX3 and external flash...

    Quote Originally Posted by erictan8888 View Post
    hi,

    just a couple of questions i hope users of LX3 can help....

    1. if i attach the SB600 to the LX3, wondering if can get full TTL ?

    2. if not then izzit manual ?

    3. if manual, then how to adjust the output of flash so that does not look too harsh?
    i mean does the external flash "communicate" with the LX3 or vice versa so that flash output not too strong ?

    thanks a lot
    Answer to Q1: No you won't get TTL, you would need a Olympus or Panasonic Flash for TTL ( eg: FL36, FL50),

  3. #3

    Default Re: LX3 and external flash...

    FL36 work very well..u can shoot at 1/2000 at FP mode if am not wrong....heard about it but have not try it..

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    454

    Default Re: LX3 and external flash...

    I have a Canon Speedlite 420EX flash... will it work on an LX3?

  5. #5

    Default Re: LX3 and external flash...

    Quote Originally Posted by mrericlee View Post
    I have a Canon Speedlite 420EX flash... will it work on an LX3?
    It should trigger, but I'm not sure how useful it'll be when its blasting at full output each time since it doesn't have a manual mode..

  6. #6
    Senior Member Anson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    ansonchew.com
    Posts
    8,205

    Default Re: LX3 and external flash...

    Quote Originally Posted by J-Chan View Post
    It should trigger, but I'm not sure how useful it'll be when its blasting at full output each time since it doesn't have a manual mode..
    Hmm.... I wonder would anyone purchase a Olympus or Panasonic Flash just for his/her LX3?

  7. #7

    Default Re: LX3 and external flash...

    Think you need to get the smaller one which won't be top heavy. If not handling will be an issue.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Anson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    ansonchew.com
    Posts
    8,205

    Default Re: LX3 and external flash...

    Quote Originally Posted by Bridgerock View Post
    Think you need to get the smaller one which won't be top heavy. If not handling will be an issue.
    I think the FL36 is the smallest/lightest TTL flash you can buy unless you do not want to "bounce" your flash...

  9. #9

    Default Re: LX3 and external flash...

    just fyi...u do not need a dedicated olympus or panasonic flash in order to to shoot at hi speed or FP mode.... any flash that can be trigger manually or automatically will work/synch with lx3 max speed at 1/2000 sec...since Lx3 is electronic shutter .... it does not have the physical limitation faced by those dslr which used the mechanical shutter....ttl based high speed flash or FP power output is considerably less than the non-hi speed/FP version
    iirc sb 600 doesn't work well with lx3 as it doesn't have A mode nor manual mode....
    u are better off with old nikon flash or any flash with vary power output.
    Last edited by eow; 2nd November 2008 at 02:07 AM.
    头可断,血可流,倩女不可不追求 carpe diem,when in doubt, hoot first,apologise later:p GALLERY

  10. #10

    Default Re: LX3 and external flash...

    Quote Originally Posted by erictan8888 View Post
    hi,

    just a couple of questions i hope users of LX3 can help....

    1. if i attach the SB600 to the LX3, wondering if can get full TTL ?

    2. if not then izzit manual ?

    3. if manual, then how to adjust the output of flash so that does not look too harsh?
    i mean does the external flash "communicate" with the LX3 or vice versa so that flash output not too strong ?

    thanks a lot
    1. nope..no ttl
    2. either in auto mode(auto thrysistor) or manual
    3. if manual...it will be based on user own experience to adjust accordlingly,
    if auto....the sensor from the auto thrysistor based flash will output the power accordlingly based on the built in sensor of the flash unit itself
    头可断,血可流,倩女不可不追求 carpe diem,when in doubt, hoot first,apologise later:p GALLERY

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default Re: LX3 and external flash...

    Saw another post on compact flash, wonder flash like this, Sunpak RD2000 will work well on LX3 or not? AS it claim to have TTL for specific brand like Canon and Nikon.

    http://www.sunpak.jp/english/products/rd2000/index.html
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  12. #12

    Default Re: LX3 and external flash...

    Quote Originally Posted by zcf View Post
    Saw another post on compact flash, wonder flash like this, Sunpak RD2000 will work well on LX3 or not? AS it claim to have TTL for specific brand like Canon and Nikon.

    http://www.sunpak.jp/english/products/rd2000/index.html
    i dun think so it will work well
    as it doesn't have the vary power output.
    头可断,血可流,倩女不可不追求 carpe diem,when in doubt, hoot first,apologise later:p GALLERY

  13. #13

    Default Re: LX3 and external flash...

    Quote Originally Posted by eow View Post
    i dun think so it will work well
    as it doesn't have the vary power output.
    It does not work with LX3 TTL!

    Guide Number (ISO 100-m) 20
    Flash Control Mode Canon: E-TTLII Nikon: i-TTL Sony(α): ADI, P-TTL
    Compatible Cameras Digital SLR cameras with above ash control mode.
    Wireless Function -
    Recycling Time *Full flashing Alkaline
    Battery 2-AA approx. 5 sec.
    Ni-MH
    Battery 2-AA approx. 4 sec.
    No. of Flashes *Full flashing Alkaline
    Battery 2-AA approx. 200
    Ni-MH
    Battery 2-AA approx. 280
    Auto Effective Range
    (Focal Length at 35mm) TTL Auto 1.0~10m
    Power Ratio -
    Angle of Coverage Covers the focal length of 22mm or longer (APS-C size)
    Covers the focal length of 32mm or longer
    (when converted to 35-mm lm size)
    Effective Range of AF Assist Light -
    Flash Speed Approx. 1/800 sec.
    Bounce Flash Vertical: Up 90
    Wide Panel 16mm (APS-C size)
    24mm (when converted to 35-mm film size)
    Zoom Position Display
    (switch type) -
    Dimensions
    (H*W*D) (w/o Shoe) Approx. 43.5x60x88mm / 1.8x2.4x3.5in
    Weight (w/o Battery) Approx. 100g / 3.5oz
    Accessory -
    EAN (maker code 4960436) For Canon 023980 For Nikon 024017 For Sony(α) 024062
    F3,F4,D70s,D3,1424,1735,2035,2470,2870,3570,80200, 80400,28PC, 351.4,Z352,501.2,Z851.4,MIR500

  14. #14

    Default Re: LX3 and external flash...

    Some sample below to show that how easy and effortless to strobe wirelessly using manual flash without any high speed synch, FP with digicam with electronic shutter than dslr with mechanical shutter

    sample 1 taken without flash to show how dark the room is


    sample 2 taken with A700 with wireless triiger using vivitar flash at x/synch speed of 1/250 sec


    sample 3 to show the limitation of the mechanical shutter when u pushed it beyond it limit at 1/400 sec


    sample 4 when push at anything abv 1/400 sec


    sample 5 how easy and effortless it is to use with the lx3
    taken at 1/2000sec

    头可断,血可流,倩女不可不追求 carpe diem,when in doubt, hoot first,apologise later:p GALLERY

  15. #15
    Senior Member xtemujin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Singapura, Singapore
    Posts
    2,778

    Arrow Re: LX3 and external flash...

    Nice looking Metz mecablitz 28 AF-3 digital flash.

    http://www.dchome.net/redirect.php?t...&goto=lastpost
    Last edited by xtemujin; 22nd November 2008 at 06:59 PM.

  16. #16

    Default Re: LX3 and external flash...

    I got the 28 AF-3 after going through tons of trouble. But it works well with the LX3. i.e at least everything is automatic.

    But one thing before you purchase it (most probably online), make sure its running on firmware version 2.0. The 1.0 will only support the older gen of oly digicams. Version 2.0 will support most of the newer cameras from both Olympus and Panasonic.

  17. #17

    Default Re: LX3 and external flash...

    my sb800 works very well in aperture (A) mode on the flash. just adjust the aperture to match the aperture on the cam.

  18. #18
    Senior Member xtemujin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Singapura, Singapore
    Posts
    2,778

    Arrow Re: LX3 and external flash...

    Where did you get it and how much is the price ?

    Thanks.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bridgerock View Post
    I got the 28 AF-3 after going through tons of trouble. But it works well with the LX3. i.e at least everything is automatic.

    But one thing before you purchase it (most probably online), make sure its running on firmware version 2.0. The 1.0 will only support the older gen of oly digicams. Version 2.0 will support most of the newer cameras from both Olympus and Panasonic.

  19. #19

    Default Re: LX3 and external flash...

    Quote Originally Posted by xtemujin View Post
    Where did you get it and how much is the price ?

    Thanks.
    I got it from Amazon USA. But when I got it, it was running under firmware rev 1.1. The LX3 totally can't control it. So after communicating with Metz germany, they ask me to send it back to US, BogenImaging for the upgrade. So the nice service guy flashed it to firmware 2.0 and after that you can have full control from the camera. i.e you can chose fill flash, redeye reduction and etc...more options to choose as compared to the internal pop up.

    But if you can try to get from Europe esp from Germany, its better since most are already running on firmware 2.0. The US side seems like its a mixed bag. Depends if you are lucky to get the one running on the new firmware.

    Also take note that if you are buying from other countries, the firmware version is stated on the packaging. This is as advised by the Metz service guy in Germany.

    Note : Only the Olympus Metz got an additional item which is the illuminator, but on the LX3, don't think it work on LX3. Maybe only for Olympus cameras. When I deactivate the illuminator on the LX3, once you mount the flash, it will somehow override the camera settings and your LX3 illuminator will light up when you focus on something.

  20. #20
    Senior Member xtemujin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Singapura, Singapore
    Posts
    2,778

    Arrow Re: LX3 and external flash...

    Many thanks for the detailed information bro.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bridgerock View Post
    I got it from Amazon USA. But when I got it, it was running under firmware rev 1.1. The LX3 totally can't control it. So after communicating with Metz germany, they ask me to send it back to US, BogenImaging for the upgrade. So the nice service guy flashed it to firmware 2.0 and after that you can have full control from the camera. i.e you can chose fill flash, redeye reduction and etc...more options to choose as compared to the internal pop up.

    But if you can try to get from Europe esp from Germany, its better since most are already running on firmware 2.0. The US side seems like its a mixed bag. Depends if you are lucky to get the one running on the new firmware.

    Also take note that if you are buying from other countries, the firmware version is stated on the packaging. This is as advised by the Metz service guy in Germany.

    Note : Only the Olympus Metz got an additional item which is the illuminator, but on the LX3, don't think it work on LX3. Maybe only for Olympus cameras. When I deactivate the illuminator on the LX3, once you mount the flash, it will somehow override the camera settings and your LX3 illuminator will light up when you focus on something.

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •