Thread: How to reduce noise using PS CS3?

Default How to reduce noise using PS CS3?

HI, i am new to digital darkroom. Am trying to reduce the noise as i shot my picture in Hi-L ( I think ISO 6400 using Nikon D300). I went to filters> noise> Noice reduction but the effect seems marginal. Am i expecting too much?

See below for original picture before Noise Reduction. Any advice would be appreciated. (grey graduation from the bottom is because picture was shot through the fence).

Don't brag about your accomplishments; Show us your future works.

Default Re: How to reduce noise using PS CS3?

Don't think Photoshop can do the level of noise reduction you're expecting out of the box. You should consider getting either Noise Ninja or Noiseware.

BTW, that's a nice shot you have there!

:Later,

i have done up a version of whereby noise is removed using noiseninja
    hope this help..
    Let me know if you want me to take it down

[QUOTE=chrisljh;4396772]i have done up a version of whereby noise is removed using noiseninja
    hope this help..
    Let me know if you want me to take it down [QUOTE]

Thanks Chrisljh !

Photoshop skills is something i really need to learn... Thanks. Its ok to leave it up.

Quote Originally Posted by Pinoy View Post
    Don't think Photoshop can do the level of noise reduction you're expecting out of the box. You should consider getting either Noise Ninja or Noiseware.

BTW, that's a nice shot you have there!

:Later,
    Thanks. Will explore NoiseNinja and see if it works for the shots. Thanks for the recommendation.

Quote Originally Posted by JacePhoto View Post
    HI, i am new to digital darkroom. Am trying to reduce the noise as i shot my picture in Hi-L ( I think ISO 6400 using Nikon D300). I went to filters> noise> Noice reduction but the effect seems marginal. Am i expecting too much?