Thread: how to do depth of field shots

Default how to do depth of field shots

Hi everyone! i'm an extremely new newbie to the world of photography...and i'll like to ask questions regarding this.

i have searched the threads and understood that DOF shots are done depending on 3 factors 1-distance 2-apeture speed 3-shutter speed.

i have tried using the olympus c5050z but to no avail...the background still remains pretty clear along with the subject matter!

are there any tips for this particular greenhorn?i have tried adjusting the various factors...but i still get confused...how close should i get to the subject matter?also are there any lenses for me to further decrease/increase apeture?

thanks!

Actually, Depth of Field is influenced by 3 factors:

1) Focal length- longer focal lengths give shallower depth of field
    2) Camera to Subject distance- the closer the camera is to the subject, the shallower the depth of field will be.
    3) Aperture(for a given format)- the larger(smaller f-number) the effective aperture, the shallower the DOF.

Shutter speed isn't involved in DOF at all.

Digicams have significantly more DOF compared to SLRs at any setting, f2.8 on a digicam has approximately the same DOF as f8-f11 on an SLR, hence it is difficult to get a shallow DOF.

The only times when you can get a good DOF blur for a digicam is when you take macro shots or use a Teleconvertor at a relatively short distance.

Quote Originally Posted by Zerstorer
    Actually, Depth of Field is influenced by 3 factors:

1) Focal length- longer focal lengths give shallower depth of field
    2) Camera to Subject distance- the closer the camera is to the subject, the shallower the depth of field will be.
    3) Aperture(for a given format)- the larger(smaller f-number) the effective aperture, the shallower the DOF.

Shutter speed isn't involved in DOF at all.