Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Olympus

Olympus Discover Your Wonder

Old 31st July 2003   #1
jasonwcs

Default Need to Confirm abt 750 Flash

Hi & Thank You to everyone who can help me.
I need a confirm or anyone who had tested this flash- Mezt32z-3 with the Olympus C-750Uz :

This Camera comes with a hotshoe on the camera, can I use DIRECTLY on the camera hotshoe to fire NORMAL shoot WITHOUT any TTL function or any adaptor???? Just the flash directly mounted onto the camera hotshoe??

I need to know this because I understand that Mezt flash doesn't come with OLYMPUS mounted contact point for the olympus hotshoe

I already known that this flash can only have TTL function only IF I used a SCA 3202 Adaptor!!!!

Oh god , can anyone help PLEASE..Please..please...pls..pl...p
Old 31st July 2003   #2
jasonwcs

Please anybody can help me on this... ...
Old 31st July 2003   #3
Jayan

I'm in here to offer morale support.
Sponsored Link
Old 1st August 2003   #4
Arx

I think the adaptor is a must. otherwise get a FL20 or FL40
Old 1st August 2003   #5
ShuLL

ermx...just piggy back thread...any comments on C-750? thinking of getting the cam to replace my PnS A303...
Old 1st August 2003   #6
NiVleK

Is the adaptor really a must? If I am not wrong, you will be missing out on the TTL functions w/o the adapter but it should still have the one electrical connection that tells your camera that the flash is on.

Anyway, I see no reason to get this flash w/o getting its adaptor.
Old 1st August 2003   #7
jasonwcs

Hi Jayan,
Thanks for the support

Hi Arx,
If I can afford the fl-40, I will buy liao lor, no need to ask so much right, my reason to ask is because I had already brought a Suntex Flash which cost me $100+, but when I mount it on the camera hotshoe it does not communicate with my camera??so I can only used it as a salve ONLY. which is what's the point.

Hi Shell,
The camera is good, but if u used max zoom, tropiod is a must, also if u used a wide angle len or any step up lens with the built-in flash, a dark mark, means shadow of ur lens will appear on the bottom of the pictures, also a headace to get a external flash for this camera, the orginal FL-40 cost $588 at AP which is half price of ur camera, ha...ha..., dn't drop ur eyes

Hi Nivlek,
I know what u mean, but my main condsate is can the flash work w/o the adaptor??
I know that u r using a Achiever 115A flash right, does this flash works on the hotshoe, I mean ON THE HOTSHOE, NOT AS A SLAVE FLASH, cos I have 1 suntex 9000dtx which cannot commincate with my c-750, so I can only used as a slave flash, which I dn't want.
Reason:
When ever I use a WC len if I use the built-in flash with the slave flash, there is ALWAYs a dark shadow of the WC len frm the built-in flash even if as salve is used
Old 1st August 2003   #8
chyeheng

I have C-750, and the Metz 32MZ-1 with the SCA Adapter

I did a quick try switching out the Oly adapter and no, cannot
get it work on the C-750 hotshoe with the 1 pin connecter
type adapter. (Cannot enable the flash on the camera, seems
the C750 don't know there is a external flash)

Having said that, I enjoy the Metz32MZ-1 with the Oly adapter
very much. Fully automatic and the Lowlight Focus Assist Lamp
works too.

I think is worth that money for the adapter IMHO.
Old 1st August 2003   #9
jasonwcs

Quote:
Originally posted by chyeheng
I have C-750, and the Metz 32MZ-1 with the SCA Adapter

I did a quick try switching out the Oly adapter and no, cannot
get it work on the C-750 hotshoe with the 1 pin connecter
type adapter. (Cannot enable the flash on the camera, seems
the C750 don't know there is a external flash)

Having said that, I enjoy the Metz32MZ-1 with the Oly adapter
very much. Fully automatic and the Lowlight Focus Assist Lamp
works too.

I think is worth that money for the adapter IMHO.
Hi bro,
thanks for the reply, but I can't find the mezt32mz-1 model in the mezt webpage lei?? or did u give the right flash model no, cos so far I can only see 32 Z-1, 32 Z-2 & 32 MZ-3 model lei, can confirm, urs is a MZ or just Z??Please help, thanks.
U mean ur flash come with a Lowlight Focus Assist Lamp, that's cool man, 750 have a BIG problem to fofocus on low light area, another headace problem he..he...(dn't know does the 32mz-3 comes with that)
oh ya r u using the SCA3202 adaptor for ur 750???

Last edited by jasonwcs; 1st August 2003 at 11:57 AM.
Old 1st August 2003   #10
NiVleK

He should be using the 3202 adaptor if I am not wrong. And also, The 32Z1 is not a TTL enabled flash so I think he might have made some typo errors.

Low light focus assist? Wow. That made me even more "gian" on getting it ASAP.

To answer your questions, I am using it on the hot shoe, it dun sync properly when I am using it as a slave. But so far, the only times I have used the 115A is when I do macro shots. Other than that, I try to take pictures w/o flash and avoid places with low light.
Old 1st August 2003   #11
ivor

I would still suggest the Olympus FL-40 if you want TTL.
Old 1st August 2003   #12
jasonwcs

Quote:
Originally posted by NiVleK
He should be using the 3202 adaptor if I am not wrong. And also, The 32Z1 is not a TTL enabled flash so I think he might have made some typo errors.

Low light focus assist? Wow. That made me even more "gian" on getting it ASAP.

To answer your questions, I am using it on the hot shoe, it dun sync properly when I am using it as a slave. But so far, the only times I have used the 115A is when I do macro shots. Other than that, I try to take pictures w/o flash and avoid places with low light.
Hi N,
thanks for the information, think I makeup my mind to buy the Mezt 32mz-3 since it have the Low light focus assist, if it's true la,
that would solve the low light focus problem, ha..ha...
U mean the flash u r using on ur camera is only use as a slave only right?
Old 1st August 2003   #13
jasonwcs

Quote:
Originally posted by ivor
I know the orginal is the best, but only if I can afford it, $588 lei, no joke man!!!
For the mezt it's $200+ for the flash and $110 for the adaptor, still cheaper than $200+ lei, unless someone offer a 2nd hand 1 lor, which is very rare to find someone selling this la. cos if nobody buy, then nobody will be selling too, right?
Thanks for the help anyway.
Old 1st August 2003   #14
jasonwcs

Quote:
Originally posted by ivor
Hi Ivor,
See that u have used a FL-40 B4, does this come with the Low light focus assist function also??
Old 1st August 2003   #15
chyeheng

Typo error. Should be 32MZ-3.

The light is helpful but don't expect it to solve ALL focusing problems with this Camera

Tricks on low-light:
1. Hold camera steady when focusing
2. Use wide-angle avoid too much zoom
3. Look for good contrast
4. Use iESP

Have fun on your journey in getting the "light"
Old 1st August 2003   #16
jasonwcs

Quote:
Originally posted by chyeheng
Typo error. Should be 32MZ-3.

The light is helpful but don't expect it to solve ALL focusing problems with this Camera

Tricks on low-light:
1. Hold camera steady when focusing
2. Use wide-angle avoid too much zoom
3. Look for good contrast
4. Use iESP

Have fun on your journey in getting the "light"
Ok thanks for all the help man, can't wait to lay my hand on 1 of the flash
Closed Thread