Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Handheld for modelshoot

  1. #1

    Default Handheld for modelshoot

    Hi,

    I have a Sigma 17-70mm 2.8-4.5,
    For the indoor ModelShoot that comes with the lighting, reflector etc,
    Will it be possible to shoot handheld without flash at ard F4 to F5 aperture ?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Choa Chu Kang
    Posts
    440

    Default Re: Handheld for modelshoot

    indoor if no flash, a bit hard i tink... have to use higher ISO?
    Pentax K100D Super

  3. #3

    Default Re: Handheld for modelshoot

    Quote Originally Posted by redwine View Post
    Hi,

    I have a Sigma 17-70mm 2.8-4.5,
    For the indoor ModelShoot that comes with the lighting, reflector etc,
    Will it be possible to shoot handheld without flash at ard F4 to F5 aperture ?
    Fill flash is necessary. sharper pics than high iso

  4. #4

    Default Re: Handheld for modelshoot

    For iso400, F4 at 50mm (75mm effective),
    what is the typical range of Shutter speed ?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Clementi
    Posts
    10,596

    Default Re: Handheld for modelshoot

    Quote Originally Posted by redwine View Post
    For iso400, F4 at 50mm (75mm effective),
    what is the typical range of Shutter speed ?
    1/2000s

    You'd of course realise I'm messing with you.

    Dood, when you get there, meter the scene and you'll find out for yourself. There's no such thing as one shutter speed that I tell you will work in every scene. You do know how to work the light meter in your camera, right?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,984

    Default Re: Handheld for modelshoot

    Quote Originally Posted by redwine View Post
    Hi,

    I have a Sigma 17-70mm 2.8-4.5,
    For the indoor ModelShoot that comes with the lighting, reflector etc,
    Will it be possible to shoot handheld without flash at ard F4 to F5 aperture ?
    Shouldn't the fact that lighting (I'm assuming studio strobes or equivalent) is included make flash unnecessary?

  7. #7

    Default Re: Handheld for modelshoot

    Quote Originally Posted by Gengh View Post
    Shouldn't the fact that lighting (I'm assuming studio strobes or equivalent) is included make flash unnecessary?
    that was my initial thought.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Override2Zion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Singapore/Bangkok Thailand
    Posts
    2,111

    Default Re: Handheld for modelshoot

    How about using flash but adjust it to fire just the right amount?
    Without flash, really depends on your indoor lighting condition, also are you willing to up your ISO?
    Nikon D200/D700/D800 User :)
    [www.PositiveStudioProductions.com]

  9. #9

    Default Re: Handheld for modelshoot

    Quote Originally Posted by redwine View Post
    For iso400, F4 at 50mm (75mm effective),
    what is the typical range of Shutter speed ?
    2 seconds? 1/200th? 1/2000th?

    without any idea of exactly what lighting is set up, we can't answer this for you.
    Alpha

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: Handheld for modelshoot

    If the shoot is with lighting and reflection (Assuming that it's Studio Strobes etc.)
    Then you can safely shoot handheld.

    However, you will need to meter the lights properly and set the power ratings.

    Most people shoot at 1/200s as it's the usual flash syn speed that most Strobes have

    (I might be wrong)

    If you want to use your build-in flash or speedlight, do set them to manual and meter their light output also so that you can balance the light from your Studio Strobe and Reflecter.

    Remember, shooting indoor studio is all about light balancing to create the image you want

    Cheers and have a great weekend and happy shooting!

  11. #11

    Default Re: Handheld for modelshoot

    Quote Originally Posted by redwine View Post
    Hi,

    I have a Sigma 17-70mm 2.8-4.5,
    For the indoor ModelShoot that comes with the lighting, reflector etc,
    Will it be possible to shoot handheld without flash at ard F4 to F5 aperture ?
    Yes, it is possible, because:

    1/ you already mentioned that there will be "lighting, reflector etc" -- use them to your advantage

    2/ you can use ISO and shutter speed combination (you can probably go up to 1/15 to prevent camera shake -- IS also helps, and ISO 800 for example)
    Last edited by phyrewall; 12th September 2008 at 11:16 AM.

  12. #12
    Senior Member Zeckson Chow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Currently in Singapore
    Posts
    6,238

    Default Re: Handheld for modelshoot

    Quote Originally Posted by redwine View Post
    Hi,

    I have a Sigma 17-70mm 2.8-4.5,
    For the indoor ModelShoot that comes with the lighting, reflector etc,
    Will it be possible to shoot handheld without flash at ard F4 to F5 aperture ?
    Yes, it is possible to shoot your subject hand-holding your camera for indoors.
    Speaking of ART is USELESS if one cannot FEEL anything.
    My Photo Albums

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    1,002

    Default Re: Handheld for modelshoot

    a strange question indeed..

    whether you can (or want to) shoot handheld is entirely up to you.. and that decision can be based of existing / available light.. and other strobe / lighting units in the setup.. and etc..

    even if you have the whole room nuked with lights.. you can still shoot with a tripod..

    =)

  14. #14

    Default Re: Handheld for modelshoot

    You mentioned there are studio lights and reflectors.. Depends on how these are used, will affect what settings you need to use
    Meow!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •