Thread: New Camera or 2nd Hand

Red face New Camera or 2nd Hand

This is my first time posting on Club Snap and also my first time buying a digital SLR. My preferred brand is Canon. I'm pretty clueless about buying a dslr as I'm new in photography. I will be using this camera to shoot mainly events and landscapes. I read from the website that 1000D is light and suitable for a girl. I am on a budget of not more than $1,200. It will be better if it can be as lower than that.

Here are the options that I have.
    1) 1000D kit (new)
    2) 450D kit (new)
    3) 400D + lens (2nd hand)
    4) 300D + lens (2nd hand)

If I were to buy a 2nd hand camera, what are the things should I be looking out for?

Hope someone can help me.

Default Re: New Camera or 2nd Hand

have you used a dslr before? If you have not, borrow one from a fren and spend time shooting with it. See if you like it.
    400d is small in size and good for ladies' handhold.
    Word of advice, keep to your budget

I think probably u should first check the following information first before you decide to buy any particular used camera:-

1. Shutter Count (Normally shutter life will be well over 50000 but it does depend wht model)
    2. Whether or not the camera can accomadate u need (go to wesite such as dpreview to check out the details)
    3. Personally I think lens is always more important than the if u r really on a budget I think u should probably look at what kind of combination (camera + lens) can you get with u budget...(My advise is spend more on lens...2 cents)

If you only want to look at Canon, then I suggest the 450D. The 1000D just feels too toy-like, doesn't inspire confidence in it's durability.

Hi Boogiean! Welcome to Clubsnap. This forum has many useful resources and threads for everyone and many helpful members always ready to share their experience.