"A Case for the penalty.... There is no doubt Hamilton drove a good race to come back from his early spin and keep it all together on the last two laps, unlike Kimi. However after considering the footage closely post the race I do agree that Hamilton was guilty of gaining an advantage from cutting the chicane. He took completely the right action by going across the chicane, if he had held his position the chances are Kimi and Lewis would have collided. However that then gained him an advantage of over Kimi, so Lewis then correctly slowed to allow Kimi to pass him. Lewis should have let Kimi take the lead into turn one and then pass him on the next lap (he would have because he was much quicker than Kimi). However no sooner had Kimi nipped back ahead of Lewis, Lewis then got straight in the slip stream and took the lead back again. When giving a place back in that situation, the driver has to let the driver past properly, not just take the place back in the slipstream. There is precedent for this. A few years ago Alonso in the Renault missed a chicane and allowed the car behind through, but instantly overtook it in the slipstream (it could have been malaysia?). However race control told Renault that Alonso had not properly conceded the position, and he had to let the car back ahead and then legitimately repass it. Although the penalty seems harsh, I believe that a 25s added to race time was the only punishment available if Hamilton was indeed judged to have gained an unfair advantage. However I believe the judgement was correct. "