Thread: Shooting for events

Default Shooting for events

Hi! I am new to dSLR photography so I would like to ask which modes do u guys usually use for event shootings? P, S, A or M?

The event I am shooting for should be mostly indoors but I suppose there would be some outdoor activities as well..

Thanks!

Default Re: Shooting for events

Quote Originally Posted by takeshi.lum View Post
    Hi! I am new to dSLR photography so I would like to ask which modes do u guys usually use for event shootings? P, S, A or M?

The event I am shooting for should be mostly indoors but I suppose there would be some outdoor activities as well..

Thanks!
    it depends on your style. i shoot entirely in Manual. i control ISO, WB, shutter and apeture. some people shoot Program, some shoot Apeture priority, some shoot shutter priority. you have to shoot and figure out which works for you, not follow what other people do.

IN general though, "newer" photogs are encouraged to use A,S or P. i started out with M because i started with a manual film camera.
    It is such a quiet thing to fall,
    But far more terrible is to admit it

well the best settings would be "Auto" for newbie.
    not too hassle about it.

use Manual, when the time comes perhaps a lil bit more better.
    just keep practising.
    Nikon D300s|D80|11-16 f2.8|17-50 f2.8|70-200 f2.8|35 f1.8|SB800|

Quote Originally Posted by ziincx View Post
    not too hassle about it.

use Manual, when the time comes perhaps a lil bit more better.
    just keep practising.
    I disagree, because that way you take longer to learn. (and some people don't learn at all ) Unless the "newbie" pays attention to what kind of settings the camera automatically chooses for them.

Of course, that is assuming the person wants to learn and understands the basic relationship between aperture, shutter speed, and exposure.

Quote Originally Posted by vonlichenstein View Post