Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Time taken to load 10mp picture in photoshop.

  1. #1

    Default Time taken to load 10mp picture in photoshop.

    Hey all,
    I was just wondering how long it would take to load a 10mp picture in cs3.
    I found that my computer takes about 20secs.
    I remember it was faster in the past but now it has slowed down.
    Is it because of the ram or scratch disk space?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northeast - Sengkang.
    Posts
    96

    Default Re: Time taken to load 10mp picture in photoshop.

    Probably due to insufficient RAM? Does Photoshop CS3 supports dual-core processing? I guess so right?
    Nikon D60|Nikkor AF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR|Nikkor AF-S 55-200mm f/4-5.6G VR|Nikkor AF 50mm f/1.8D

  3. #3

    Default Re: Time taken to load 10mp picture in photoshop.

    i'm running off my laptop, currently it has 3gb ram and runs on a intel core 2 duo T7200 2ghz processor..
    Do i have to activate dual core processing?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    West Legion
    Posts
    7,751

    Default Re: Time taken to load 10mp picture in photoshop.

    u loading it right after photoshop start up? iirc photoshop always take much longer to load the first image right after start up. 20s seems too much if that is the average loading rate, my old pentium M + 768ram load even faster than that.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,719

    Default Re: Time taken to load 10mp picture in photoshop.

    take 5 sec to open my 39MP file. its 93MB in size btw.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northeast - Sengkang.
    Posts
    96

    Default Re: Time taken to load 10mp picture in photoshop.

    Quote Originally Posted by blackdrakes View Post
    i'm running off my laptop, currently it has 3gb ram and runs on a intel core 2 duo T7200 2ghz processor..
    Do i have to activate dual core processing?
    If Photoshop CS3 supports dual-core parallel processing, which I think it is supported, then I think dual-core processing should be its default setting as long as you have a dual-core processor.

    Added: My Photoshop CS3 Extended took 25 seconds to startup for the first time, and took only 5 seconds to load a 10MB photo for the 1st time. Maybe your RAM is nearly full to the brim at that particular moment when it took 10 seconds for you to load a 10MB photo? Or does it take so long all the time?
    Last edited by alleggerita; 15th August 2008 at 11:33 PM.
    Nikon D60|Nikkor AF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR|Nikkor AF-S 55-200mm f/4-5.6G VR|Nikkor AF 50mm f/1.8D

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    West Legion
    Posts
    7,751

    Default Re: Time taken to load 10mp picture in photoshop.

    also make sure that ur hdd-activity light is not on or blinking non-stop, some process might be using the hdd, thus delaying the access to the photo. this is especially usual on laptop due to much slower HDD compared to the 3.5" desktop counterpart.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    261

    Default Re: Time taken to load 10mp picture in photoshop.

    or mabye you running other app
    or might be your antivus thats daily scanning which mine got it slight delay be few seconds.
    Nikon D300s|D80|11-16 f2.8|17-50 f2.8|70-200 f2.8|35 f1.8|SB800|

  9. #9
    Member Parka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    1,067

    Default Re: Time taken to load 10mp picture in photoshop.

    When you're loading a file, the file comes from the harddisk so it's affected be that.

    Most probably the harddisk is running some other stuff at the same time?

  10. #10

    Default Re: Time taken to load 10mp picture in photoshop.

    Thanks everyone for your replies.
    After searching the web,
    I have found out that the problem lies in the number of printers that are connected to the computer.
    (Connected as in installed into the computer.)
    Since i have about 10 printers, i deleted the useless ones.
    It really did speed up alot, now it takes 3 seconds to load a picture.
    I do agree that it does take slightly longer when the HDD is running other programs such as mediaplayer and outlook.
    Anyway, do give it a try and delete some of the unused printers installed to your computer.
    It really does work.
    Cheers.

  11. #11
    vince123123
    Guests

    Default Re: Time taken to load 10mp picture in photoshop.

    Wah, printers got to do with load time??

  12. #12

    Default Re: Time taken to load 10mp picture in photoshop.

    Yeah,
    I don't know why but it does work.
    The more printers installed the longer it takes to load a picture.
    More info here.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •