Thread: hello all, i'm new to photography :)

Red face hello all, i'm new to photography :)

hello everyone

i'm very new to clubsnap and 'proper' photography, so please give me some pointers!

have always used a simple digital point-and-shoot and wish to improve on my shots. step 1 - go ahead and buy a decent camera...

here's where i really need advice

1. i would like to bring my camera everywhere i go (if possible), so the size must not be too bulky.
    2. must have manual options - possible to do long exposure photography?
    3. my main subjects: the vast skies and scenery (panoramic or widescreen shots?), old and modern buildings, people, food!
    4. budget < $900 (hopefully inclusive of memory card + lens if required)

based on these, what would be the ideal camera?

i have shortlisted: Canon G9 - if i get this set and add a teleconverter, or the wide converter, would i be able to achieve decent panoramic shots? Lumix DMC LX 3, or should i wait for the Nikon P6000 or Canon G10?

thanks for being so patient and reading this long post.. please, please advise this newbie!!

Default Re: hello all, i'm new to photography :)

Don't see why can't G9 can't do all of the above. Even my very old G1 could do all these and took really nice pano. <-- DP from my first few shots 8 or so yrs ago.

With 900 you can get a decent 2nd hand DSLR setup inclusive of lens and tripod.

Say a canon 350d w kit lens is going for about 500, top up 90 to get a 50mm f1.8 prime.
    Add about 120 for benro tripod w head.
    Add 100 for a dry cabinet.
    And others for cleaning accessories.

I would go with the G9. That would fulfill all your requirements, and the learning curve for this camera should be sufficient for your needs.

Don't jump into getting a 2nd hand dslr immediately just because it falls within your budget. Figure out if you really enjoy this hobby first before deciding in the future if you want to move on. A G9 is a very capable camera.