Thread: Help Needed

Default Help Needed

I just bought a 2nd hand D70s
    I accidentally reset the previous setting of the camera.
    As I am new to photography would like to seek the help of the pros as to wat is the ideal setting for the manual mode.

Default Re: Help Needed

Start with the P-mode, Digital Vari-programs (or called SCENE mode in PnS)

hi thanks for the recommendation
    would liketo post this question.
    what should i set the camera to to get a gd firework pic on this sat?
    what is the cheapest tripod you can recommend

Quote Originally Posted by jwpoon View Post
    hi thanks for the recommendation
    would liketo post this question.
    It's best to shoot in M mode for fireworks. A fixed shutter speed (normally either bulb or limited to about 6 to 15 secs)

As for tripod, pls dun skimp on it.... when the whole rig falls over due to instability, then you'd know how expensive the mistake will be
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

Some rely on F5.6 aperture & 2 to 4 seconds (depending on brightness of fireworks) or F8 aperture & 8 seconds as starting point for fireworks setting

how to i set that
    Please advise.
    where to get the tripod any recommendation

how to i set that
    Please advise.
    where to get the tripod any recommendation
    Dude, read your manual. If you can't even set aperture and shutter speed, maybe a DSLR is too much for you. You do have a manual, right? You do know how to go to www.nikon.com and download one?

Getting a DSLR for an event in 1-2 days time when you don't have the slightest clue on how to use it is quite silly. You should have a basic understanding of photography before trying a DSLR.
    Alpha

thread starter, check your PM(private message)

anyway,

fireworks settings , depends. i've seen the photographer next to me use f5.6, while the other guy next to me is using f8 while me myself, im using f11. and all 3 of us are not using bulb mode (lol?)