Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25

Thread: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

  1. #1

    Default Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    Anyone upgraded or bought LR2 yet? The new features don't really make a big change to the flow, if any. And the upgrade is expensive! US$129!! Not sure if the new features are worth the trouble.

    Anyone tried it yet?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    u can go to adobecenter.com
    check out the videos there

  3. #3
    Senior Member phoakm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    7,385

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    Upgraded since the first day of annoucement. Not bad actually, I can do more creative work using LR 2.0.
    I AM BORNFIRE!
    My Flickr/TFCD Service

  4. #4
    Moderator diver-hloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Somewhere North
    Posts
    5,201

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    Quote Originally Posted by phoakm View Post
    Upgraded since the first day of annoucement. Not bad actually, I can do more creative work using LR 2.0.
    Any other 'reviewer' please..... More info the better.

    I'm presently still using Lightroom 1.4 ...... am very happy with it. But like TS, I'm wondering is the UPGRADE worth the money we are paying for....

    Scuba & Father... For Life

  5. #5
    Member Parka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    1,067

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    Isn't there a trial version?

    Can't trial over the 1.4 version?

  6. #6

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    Quote Originally Posted by Parka View Post
    Isn't there a trial version?

    Can't trial over the 1.4 version?
    You can concurrently use both 1.4 and 2.0 - the 2.0 software will create a 2.0 catalog from your 1.4 catalog.

    Only that catalogs created by a particular software version cannot be cross-read by another version.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    i wrote a mini-review of sorts. click here if you are interested.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    Quote Originally Posted by Parka View Post
    Isn't there a trial version?

    Can't trial over the 1.4 version?
    There was a beta version. Tried that. Didn't seem that different. Only thing I liked was the multi monitor support.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    For me it too heavy.. When I use brushes, I had to wait few second to see the result. Or, if I still want to use it, I have to upgrade to more powerful computer.
    Last edited by sayasajer; 5th August 2008 at 08:21 PM.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    Was using the beta version and LR 1.4.

    Correct me if i am wrong.

    When using RAW files, i realize that LR 1.4 don't create xmp files. When using LR 2 Beta, it actually creates the xmp files for RAW files which means that i can use them on CS3 and LR.. which is a better choice for photographers like us with multiple HDD of work...

    I guess the xmp files are very useful...

  11. #11

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    Just some info for those (probably very few) who might be interested in running Lightroom on Vista 64 Bit OS.

    In both Lightroom 1.4.1 and Lightroom 2 beta, once you are done with the adjustments and export to JPEG or TIFF, the color shifted. It drove me up the wall for some time. Thankfully, I downloaded the release version of Lightroom 2 and it works like a charm !!! I did not see this problem Window XP.

    I am most impressed with the localized adjustments in Lightroom 2 which in the past you have to export to Photoshop to do. I personally prefer the brush approach than the Control Points in Capture NX ... more direct control.
    Last edited by Duffy; 7th August 2008 at 01:38 PM.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,081

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    The full Lightroom 2 is awesome! Among the many additional features on top of the beta version, it has gradient features which allow you to do replace the use of grad filters which I find most useful. And if you are running dual screens, it lets you browse your photo library on one screen while editing the photo of your choice on the main screen. Also, the sh**y sharpening feature on the old lightroom has been dramatically improved upon. Brilliant.

    Get the 30-day trial version, you will not regret it.

    https://www.adobe.com/cfusion/tdrc/i...op%5Flightroom
    Stop Shopp'in Start Shoot'in
    What's in my Flickr?

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,081

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    Quote Originally Posted by Duffy View Post
    In both Lightroom 1.4.1 and Lightroom 2 beta, once you are done with the adjustments and export to JPEG or TIFF, the color shifted. It drove me up the wall for some time. Thankfully, I downloaded the release version of Lightroom 2 and it works like a charm !!! I did not see this problem Window XP.
    YES! I found that to be the main prob of the old lightroom. Now it works great!
    Stop Shopp'in Start Shoot'in
    What's in my Flickr?

  14. #14

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    Anyone bought the version from Adobe?
    Howcome different pricing when checking out from US and Singapore store?

    Is the software available in local stores?

  15. #15
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,392

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    Quote Originally Posted by weekh View Post
    Is the software available in local stores?
    Riceball has it, check here: http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=403912
    Last edited by Octarine; 11th August 2008 at 09:49 PM.

  16. #16

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    I find it slightly faster... probably due to its new 64bit support... I would say its worth the upgrade...

  17. #17

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    I took the plunge and upgraded!!

    Seems to run faster than the old version. Or is it just my imagination?? Now this version can be run in 64 bit mode. Importing of pictures seem faster. Also seems to run the computer hotter too! I'm using a MacBook Pro. I know it runs hotter because the fans start spinning like crazy!

    Anyone else thinks it runs faster?

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,123

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    Not too ex...
    hmmm... considering getting one
    localized adjustment is really tempting

  19. #19

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine View Post

    woow... cheaper than upgrade price....

  20. #20
    Senior Member phoakm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    7,385

    Default Re: Upgrade to Lightroom 2?

    Quote Originally Posted by Macky View Post
    I took the plunge and upgraded!!

    Seems to run faster than the old version. Or is it just my imagination?? Now this version can be run in 64 bit mode. Importing of pictures seem faster. Also seems to run the computer hotter too! I'm using a MacBook Pro. I know it runs hotter because the fans start spinning like crazy!

    Anyone else thinks it runs faster?
    I found out my workflow seems faster. Tried downloading hundreds of NDP photos faster than Beta version. Something to take note, I am using XP OS.
    I AM BORNFIRE!
    My Flickr/TFCD Service

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •