Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Stroboscopic effect - possible on a studio strobe?

  1. #1
    Moderator nightwolf75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    really MORE diaper changes
    Posts
    17,867
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Stroboscopic effect - possible on a studio strobe?

    i was browsing ard the other day and came across this post.
    http://www.popphoto.com/popularphoto...ker-flash.html

    erm... does any one if it is possible for such an effect to be replicated on a studio strobe? the article uses our normal nikon and canon flashes. i googled ard, and they point me to some thing like a spinning cardboard attached to a camera...

    TIA!
    If Life worked on auto mode then manual mode for photography would have never existed. ― Deeksha Mittal

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Oulu, Finland, Finland
    Posts
    6,299

    Default Re: Stroboscopic effect - possible on a studio strobe?

    i believe it should be possible with studio strobes..
    if i'm not wrong, u can check out pocket wizards multimax receivers. i think they are capable of doing that.

    http://www.pocketwizard.com/HTML/multimax_features.asp

    under multi-pop?

  3. #3
    Moderator nightwolf75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    really MORE diaper changes
    Posts
    17,867
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Stroboscopic effect - possible on a studio strobe?

    Quote Originally Posted by drumma View Post
    i believe it should be possible with studio strobes..
    if i'm not wrong, u can check out pocket wizards multimax receivers. i think they are capable of doing that.

    http://www.pocketwizard.com/HTML/multimax_features.asp

    under multi-pop?
    wat i am concerned abt is the recycling of the strobe... eh, any other option apart from PW?
    If Life worked on auto mode then manual mode for photography would have never existed. ― Deeksha Mittal

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Oulu, Finland, Finland
    Posts
    6,299

    Default Re: Stroboscopic effect - possible on a studio strobe?

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75 View Post
    wat i am concerned abt is the recycling of the strobe... eh, any other option apart from PW?
    i don't know of any other radio receivers which can do this.. regarding the recycle speed, i think u have to look at the faster packs.. i think u know which are the ones.
    and usually the higher wattage strobes, will recycle faster.. as in a 1200ws strobe can recycle 600ws power faster than 600ws strobe at full power?

    i think to do this using studio strobes, need some expensive gears! correct me if i'm wrong!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    SGee
    Posts
    1,572

    Default Re: Stroboscopic effect - possible on a studio strobe?

    i not sure about studio strobes but i used to have an external flash that strobes up of 1/16 up to 10 times...

    its a Sunbiltz PZ-450 AF.

  6. #6
    Moderator nightwolf75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    really MORE diaper changes
    Posts
    17,867
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Stroboscopic effect - possible on a studio strobe?

    Quote Originally Posted by sORe-EyEz View Post
    i not sure about studio strobes but i used to have an external flash that strobes up of 1/16 up to 10 times...

    its a Sunbiltz PZ-450 AF.
    haha.. so did a lot of websites, actually. the other is sunpak, IIRC.
    If Life worked on auto mode then manual mode for photography would have never existed. ― Deeksha Mittal

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    SGee
    Posts
    1,572

    Default Re: Stroboscopic effect - possible on a studio strobe?

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75 View Post
    haha.. so did a lot of websites, actually. the other is sunpak, IIRC.
    can studio strobes recycle power fast enough for that shot you linked? wait the bulb go *pop ah...

  8. #8

    Default Re: Stroboscopic effect - possible on a studio strobe?

    canon's flash can do that effect.. (of cos with a camera la.. ) check out the manual.. else can goggle it..

    the modulus operandi (if i use this word correctly) is opening a long shutter, and flashng at certain frequencies..e.g. 300Hz, 10 times... background must be relatively dark and either on tripod or relatively steady hands...

    mayb if i can find the pic i took, i will post it.. (of cos not perfect, but can see the effect...)

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Oulu, Finland, Finland
    Posts
    6,299

    Default Re: Stroboscopic effect - possible on a studio strobe?

    If i'm not wrong, the TS is asking whether it can be done on a studio strobe, than a flash..

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    sewage drain/manhole
    Posts
    5,011

    Default Re: Stroboscopic effect - possible on a studio strobe?

    something like below, maybe different I am not sure.




  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Stroboscopic effect - possible on a studio strobe?

    well, i'd rather not risk it... but if you wan me to try on your strobe, i don't mind... and if you rent a studio and try this, make sure the owner not watching... lol...

    i think the construction of the external flash and the studio strobe differs, its the volt watt thing. and also the capacitor... haven seen a flickering strobe... and most will always have a 1sec delay beep for flash activate and recharged signal. imagine it goes, beepbeepbeepbeepbeepbeepbeep... annoying as hell...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    SGee
    Posts
    1,572

    Default Re: Stroboscopic effect - possible on a studio strobe?

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    well, i'd rather not risk it... but if you wan me to try on your strobe, i don't mind... and if you rent a studio and try this, make sure the owner not watching... lol...

    i think the construction of the external flash and the studio strobe differs, its the volt watt thing. and also the capacitor... haven seen a flickering strobe... and most will always have a 1sec delay beep for flash activate and recharged signal. imagine it goes, beepbeepbeepbeepbeepbeepbeep... annoying as hell...
    yah lor, hahaa....

    worse next door call anti-terrorist unit, tot some1 inside trying to make bomb! beep-beep-beep... *boom*

  13. #13
    Moderator nightwolf75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    really MORE diaper changes
    Posts
    17,867
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Stroboscopic effect - possible on a studio strobe?

    Quote Originally Posted by longkangman View Post
    something like below, maybe different I am not sure.



    yep. something like dat.

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    well, i'd rather not risk it... but if you wan me to try on your strobe, i don't mind... and if you rent a studio and try this, make sure the owner not watching... lol...

    i think the construction of the external flash and the studio strobe differs, its the volt watt thing. and also the capacitor... haven seen a flickering strobe... and most will always have a 1sec delay beep for flash activate and recharged signal. imagine it goes, beepbeepbeepbeepbeepbeepbeep... annoying as hell...
    Quote Originally Posted by sORe-EyEz View Post
    yah lor, hahaa....

    worse next door call anti-terrorist unit, tot some1 inside trying to make bomb! beep-beep-beep... *boom*
    u guys are probably right. i don't think i can get access to an expensive strobe to do it... guess i've to make do with my sb800.

    don't want no police SWAT team at my door...
    If Life worked on auto mode then manual mode for photography would have never existed. ― Deeksha Mittal

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •