Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: wired networking

  1. #1

    Default wired networking

    hi does anyone know how home wired network cables are run?
    my house have juz completed renovation with network points in all rooms... but there are 2 extra long CAT5 cables that are free running and not conceal in the casing or wall sockets... does anyone what are they for? i tot all networks points should be conceal nicely in those wall sockets?
    tks...

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hougang
    Posts
    820

    Default Re: wired networking

    Only the person who run the network point will be able to tell you.

    Basically, one end of the network point is in your room and the other end should end up in a central location where you have a router or switch or router/switch. The central location should be where you have your cable or ADSL modem setup. If you have 4 rooms, then the central location should have at least 4 cables. This is just one example.
    除了爱, 我一无所有

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: wired networking

    Quote Originally Posted by teruranse View Post
    hi does anyone know how home wired network cables are run?
    my house have juz completed renovation with network points in all rooms... but there are 2 extra long CAT5 cables that are free running and not conceal in the casing or wall sockets... does anyone what are they for? i tot all networks points should be conceal nicely in those wall sockets?
    tks...
    well, how many points do you have?

    u basically need a room or place whereby all the lines must converge to that point. its where you put your router/switch.

    so its like,

    Living Room <--> Network Room
    Master bedroom <--> Network Room
    Bed Room 1 <--> Network Room
    Bed Room 2 <--> Network Room
    Kitchen <--> Network Room
    Toilet <--> Network Room

    Then from above u probably need a 5 port router and another 5 port switch

    but u say only 2 wire... probably u only got 2 point, so that place will be the network room. crimp the 2 cables and then plug into the router, then the other 2 rooms will have network access.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  4. #4

    Default Re: wired networking

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    well, how many points do you have?

    u basically need a room or place whereby all the lines must converge to that point. its where you put your router/switch.

    so its like,

    Living Room <--> Network Room
    Master bedroom <--> Network Room
    Bed Room 1 <--> Network Room
    Bed Room 2 <--> Network Room
    Kitchen <--> Network Room
    Toilet <--> Network Room

    Then from above u probably need a 5 port router and another 5 port switch

    but u say only 2 wire... probably u only got 2 point, so that place will be the network room. crimp the 2 cables and then plug into the router, then the other 2 rooms will have network access.
    tks for the reply... i think i left out one detail... there is another network point in my room but is in the wall socket... so that effectively make my room to be 3 network point... so do i plug my modem in the tv (from SH) and i plug my CAT5 cable into the modem? if yes what do the 2 long cables meant for?

    its this suppose to be the usual cable setup when contractors doing network points?

    tks

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: wired networking

    Quote Originally Posted by teruranse View Post
    tks for the reply... i think i left out one detail... there is another network point in my room but is in the wall socket... so that effectively make my room to be 3 network point... so do i plug my modem in the tv (from SH) and i plug my CAT5 cable into the modem? if yes what do the 2 long cables meant for?

    its this suppose to be the usual cable setup when contractors doing network points?

    tks
    cheem, i am assuming the 2 long cables are Cat 5...

    so you got total of how many network points, its kinda confusing unless u draw a layout map. else nobody can help you except your contractor.

    the last time i do mine up, i have all the wall plugs in each room and all of them link to the network room, so from there i just plug the cables into the router. simpler... you now have 3 network points, so should be 3 cables... so its kinda funny its only 2 cables...

    btw y plug your modem to tv? you using the hubstation free broadband?
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  6. #6

    Default Re: wired networking

    You need to check which cable is the incoming from the telecoms riser. For most Condos, the wiring is to a room where all the cables terminate. This is where you should put your switch or router. The wiring is as such:


    Telelcoms Riser - Phone Cable ---> Terminating Room (for me, kitchen)
    Telecoms Riser - Spare cable ----> Terminating Room
    Living Room --(Cat 5)------------> Terminating Room
    Dining Room --(Cat 5) -----------> Terminating Room

    etc.

    You may have more than 1 cat 5 wire from each room to the terminating room, in this case, check if the socket is 8 pin or 6 pin. The 8 pin socket is for your network and the 6 pin socket is for your phone system.

    Hope this info helps.

  7. #7
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: wired networking

    ask the developer lor

    or look for documentation

  8. #8

    Default Re: wired networking

    or just use homeplug, unless the slight drop in latency and speed affects your games.

  9. #9
    Member Static's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Surfing soft porn in CS
    Posts
    1,079

    Default Re: wired networking

    Quote Originally Posted by teruranse View Post
    hi does anyone know how home wired network cables are run?
    my house have juz completed renovation with network points in all rooms... but there are 2 extra long CAT5 cables that are free running and not conceal in the casing or wall sockets... does anyone what are they for? i tot all networks points should be conceal nicely in those wall sockets?
    tks...
    Wahahahah

    You should question your contractors before they hand over the house to you.

    2 Long Cat5 cables running exposed and you just let them off ??

    No need network expert to tell that something its wrong !
    Last edited by Static; 29th July 2008 at 09:10 PM.
    陳綺貞 2010 [夏季練習曲] 巡迴演唱會 Cheer Concert 13 Nov 2010 MAX Pavilion@Singapore Expo

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •