Thread: Night shots of the peak

Default Night shots of the peak

Took this in HK on the viewing tower of Victoria Peak. So just took a couple of shots of the city lights as it was the best place to capture this there.

Last edited by mys7ix; 24th July 2008 at 12:16 AM.

Default Re: Night shots of the peak

please read the guidelines in critique corner - there is no writeup, and you have put two pictures instead of one. please choose one.

also, can you please post a larger sized picture? thanks

Photos are a bit small, don't you think ? Maybe you could upload bigger photos.

sorry about the hiccups. changed the picture to a bigger size.

Typical snapshot, and the horizon is tilted. Nothing special, best to delete and try harder.
    Alpha

Question Re: Night shots of the peak

maybe cause i'm a noob but e pic looks nice to me, never mind sala angle & plain looking but wat setting u used? cause i'm going Hk end yr & want to capture e peak too.

took it at ISO1600, probably too high as you see it with the noise in the picture. Shutter speed was 1/5 at F4 i think. taken hand held without flash

You be better off with a tripod. High ISO gives noise and robs away details. Aperture at F4 is too large for landscapes. Usually use F8 - F11.

Anyway, tilt angle can be corrected. Your pic don't seem to have a central focus or subject. Also it's not wide enough to show much.
    The best things in life are free.

i hope that my other pictures in future will turn out better.

Here are my 2 cents.

The scene is certainly worth shooting and you now got more reasons to go back to take another pic of it