Thread: Event shooters workflow

Default Event shooters workflow

For those who cover events professionally. Can share your workflow? Especially those required for "next-day" press publication.

What I found was the below, but it's too extreme for me ....hahaha the infra setup cost itself will paralyze most clients.... no need to deliver in minutes but lets say within a couple of hours after the event.

http://cpn.canon-europe.com/content/...he_olympics.do

thanks
    Gallery | Facebook Page Spreading the Good photography.

Default Re: Event shooters workflow

Hiya there,
    I am not really professional, I am just a student still in secondary school
    But i have done work for Straits Times before. I was there as part of their student team writing from a youth point of view. At the same time I was appointed as a photographer and all my works were to be published the next day. It was the Asia-Pacific Conference on Gifted Children so it was theory heavy making it hard for me to both write and shoot especially with a shortened deadline.

What i did was to plan out my shots and immediately picked those i would use while on site. I deleted the bad ones immediately from my dslr and aimed for the instucted shots needed (eg closeups on speakers). Then back in my little headquarters at the event I pulled out my laptop and took out those photos. After some photoshop I handed up my photos a few minutes before the deadline. It took me twenty minutes to resize pics and touch up on colours and stuff. At the same time my laptop was dying because I forgot my charger.

So there you go. Hope it helps.
    Last edited by narcolepticmind; 27th July 2008 at 07:27 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by narcolepticmind View Post