View Poll Results: Do you capped or uncapped your DSLR inside a dry cabinet?

Voters
50. You may not vote on this poll
  • Of course!! Else any dust particles inside the cabinet might settle on my DSLR's sensor.

    47 94.00%
  • Nope!! I won't allow any fungus to grow.

    1 2.00%
  • Depends on my mood...

    1 2.00%
  • Others: please specify

    1 2.00%
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Sensor uncapped or capped in Dry Cabi?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Toa Payoh
    Posts
    285

    Default Sensor uncapped or capped in Dry Cabi?

    Hi,

    Just asking and doing a short poll to check if anyone cap or uncap their slr body when putting inside a dry cabinet.

    I'm thinking that if left uncapped, if there is any dust inside the dry cabinet, the dust might just settle on my camera's sensor. If capped, the moisture will be trapped and fungus might grow.
    At the soul of the image

  2. #2

    Default Re: Sensor uncapped or capped in Dry Cabi?

    capped. the moisture wont be trapped as it's not air tight

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Tiong Bahru
    Posts
    993

    Default Re: Sensor uncapped or capped in Dry Cabi?

    If the camera is air tight, canon wont be coming out with weather sealed body like wise for other brand.
    EOS 5DMkiii|17-40F4L|24-105f4L|70-200f4L IS|50f1.4|85f1.8|580EX II

  4. #4
    Senior Member giantcanopy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    6,232

    Default Re: Sensor uncapped or capped in Dry Cabi?

    Capped so there will be no accidents fingering the sensor.

    Ryan.

  5. #5
    Member/Tangshooter Redsun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    7,932

    Default Re: Sensor uncapped or capped in Dry Cabi?

    capped for sure

  6. #6

    Default Re: Sensor uncapped or capped in Dry Cabi?

    capped lah...

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    1,478

    Default Re: Sensor uncapped or capped in Dry Cabi?

    if got cap then please keep it capped...surely you wont wanna make a trip down to the service centre...if the dust issue gets serious.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Sensor uncapped or capped in Dry Cabi?

    ...is there any reason to keep it uncapped?

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Up North......
    Posts
    624

    Default Re: Sensor uncapped or capped in Dry Cabi?

    Quote Originally Posted by night86mare View Post
    ...is there any reason to keep it uncapped?
    Sunny day - cap..... cloudyday-uncap.............
    D300|35mm f/2|85mm f/1.4|18-200 mm VR|17-55mm f/2.8 |70-300 F4-5.6|Tok 11-16 f/2.8|SB800|MB-D10|

  10. #10

    Default Re: Sensor uncapped or capped in Dry Cabi?

    Quote Originally Posted by night86mare View Post
    ...is there any reason to keep it uncapped?
    TS says because moisture will be trapped
    Quote Originally Posted by XiaoWei View Post
    Hi,
    I'm thinking that if left uncapped, if there is any dust inside the dry cabinet, the dust might just settle on my camera's sensor. If capped, the moisture will be trapped and fungus might grow.
    Hmm. Interesting question leh.
    Meow!

  11. #11

    Default Re: Sensor uncapped or capped in Dry Cabi?

    sorry for my noob question,

    you mean you guys detach the lens when you store it in dry cabinet? is taht better or is it better to just keep the camera with lens attached as a whole in the dry cabinet?

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    State of Confusion
    Posts
    2,196

    Default Re: Sensor uncapped or capped in Dry Cabi?

    The only reason why I've recently detached my lens from my bodies is because of better space management. My dang cabinet is getting too small!

    Capped, lah of course. The RH is already controlled within the cabinet, so don't need to be so paranoid about fungus growth. Dry cab is not air tight, and each time you open it, there's a lot of air wooshing around, kicking up a lot of dust.
    Sony Alpha system user. www.pbase.com/synapseman

  13. #13
    Senior Member Canew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    2,229

    Default Re: Sensor uncapped or capped in Dry Cabi?

    I keep my camera with whichever lens it was last used with. Seldom without lens attached.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •