Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Usergroup Discussions > Night Photography

Night Photography For those that like to expose in the dark of the night.

Old 7th July 2008   #1
Imbecile

Default Omg Omg Help!!

Ok, I was taking picture of the esplande. At first, I did not notice this small little object under the bridge (to your right) as I was fully concentrating on the esplanade. When i transffered to my comp, this object totally scared me off as I thought its a DINOSAUR!!! as there are two eyes and some huge body! Maybe it seems silly but could someone pls tell me what is this small little object? Is it a real dinosaur or just some light effects as I was doing long exposure!

Old 7th July 2008   #2
night86mare

Default Re: Omg Omg Help!!

i don't see anything leh.

but i hear the loch ness monster has come to singapore
Old 7th July 2008   #3
silver.wolf

Originally Posted by night86mare View Post
but i hear the loch ness monster has come to singapore
so desu ne!
Sponsored Link
Old 7th July 2008   #4
Adiemus

Lights la... See the reflection?
Old 7th July 2008   #5
Imbecile

i see the reflection. but lol.seriously, the 2 triangle shapes look like an eyes, and a thin line under the triangle make it worse as it looks like a lip's line.
Old 7th July 2008   #6
gymak90

Huh? Can't spot anything?

I think you stared at your photo too long la.. give your eyes a break
Old 7th July 2008   #7
adamadam

oh... that's just me swimming around
Old 7th July 2008   #8
anarkia

i thought i saw a "godzilla"..mukakaka
yeah look like one..hahaha
Old 7th July 2008   #9
puraime

oops sorry dude, my bad. I know I shouldn't let my pet out in the public. will keep him in my pond next time. good shooting btw
Old 7th July 2008   #10
Redsun
Member/Tangshooter

....................wat dinosaur??
Old 7th July 2008   #11
moos blues

where?

i tot i was the pan pacific hotel and the esplande as the body... haha
Old 7th July 2008   #12
kuantoh
Member/Tangshooter

haha... saw it... jus reflections bro... ur imaginations running wild...
Old 7th July 2008   #13
Evilmerlin

I don't see nothing boss....
Old 7th July 2008   #14
bluemystery

Omg Omg! I thought I saw a dinosoar ghost instead...
Old 7th July 2008   #15
Imbecile

hahahaaa..it scared me at first but after awhile it makes me want to laugh! LOL..just watch out guys! hahaa
Old 17th July 2008   #16
uyiew

Hmmmm dun see anything under the bridge wo
Old 17th July 2008   #17
sloth

orrrrrrrrr.......which spirits have you offended now that come back to haunt your photo.....

I think I can guess though, you probably annoyed the lens spirits, who have sent lens flare from bright light sources (at an angle) to corrupt your photo

You see the small bright light just above it? It seems to be just at the right angle, the flare is between the light and where the light hits the water. Not ALL bright light sources will flare, as lens manufacturers put in a lot of work to suppress flare, but entry level lenses and uncoated filters have less of this treatment and are more susceptible.

I was shooting some months ago with a 18-55 lens and also experienced something similar though not as 'artistic' as your dinosaur

So how do you appease the lens spirits....

Buy expensive lens lor
Old 17th July 2008   #18
DeSwitch

Haiz... you blew my cover. Thats where I will be shooting the NDP fireworks.
Old 17th July 2008   #19
Francis247

Please be reminded that this is Night Photography sub-forum, if this thread degenerate into a Kopitiam thread, I will move it to that section then. Thank you.
Old 1st September 2008   #20
skygazer

hey, its a v nice pic i thought.
i m v keen in night photography but i must admit i m a v new newbie in DSLR. Just gotten my first DLSR - EOS 450D w 18-55mm IS USM.
Can advise me what lens n settings u use to take this beautiful pic?
also, can advise what lens shld i invest in for night shoots (without using flashes)?
Many tks in advance!
Closed Thread