Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Taking fireworks

  1. #1

    Default Taking fireworks

    Hi, I am new to photography. I would like to seek advice from all of u out there on how to take photos of fireworks. I have done abit of research here and there, and I know that some of the requirements are LOW ISO, Aperture around f/11, Bulb mode, remote control and black card. But I am abit confused on the actual using of a black card.

    1) Is it I have to put the black card in front of the lens before the firework starts and meanwhile keeping the shutter open in bulb mode?

    2) When the firework starts, I take away the black card and release the shutter button to take the photos right?

    3) While the firework is going on, do i have to cover the lens with black card again?

    Thanks for the help.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Taking fireworks

    Quote Originally Posted by fallenheart View Post
    Hi, I am new to photography. I would like to seek advice from all of u out there on how to take photos of fireworks. I have done abit of research here and there, and I know that some of the requirements are LOW ISO, Aperture around f/11, Bulb mode, remote control and black card. But I am abit confused on the actual using of a black card.

    1) Is it I have to put the black card in front of the lens before the firework starts and meanwhile keeping the shutter open in bulb mode?

    2) When the firework starts, I take away the black card and release the shutter button to take the photos right?

    3) While the firework is going on, do i have to cover the lens with black card again?

    Thanks for the help.
    There's a nice starting guide here:
    http://www.clubsnap.com/display.php?.../fireworks.htm

    When you open the shutter in bulb mode, the black card you put infront of the lens acts as the shutter you manually control, taking off the black card when you want to expose the fireworks.
    So take the card off when you want to "see" the firework on your shot, then cover it again after the afterwork has shown, or if you want to block any.
    It is the camera, not the photographer.
    my flickr - adamloh.com

  3. #3

    Default Re: Taking fireworks

    Quote Originally Posted by adamadam View Post
    There's a nice starting guide here:
    http://www.clubsnap.com/display.php?.../fireworks.htm

    When you open the shutter in bulb mode, the black card you put infront of the lens acts as the shutter you manually control, taking off the black card when you want to expose the fireworks.
    So take the card off when you want to "see" the firework on your shot, then cover it again after the afterwork has shown, or if you want to block any.
    Nice Info.. Thanks alot

  4. #4

    Default Re: Taking fireworks

    1) right
    2) use release cable ,dont use finger .
    3) depends the density of it ,you can have multiple fireworks draw on 1 shoot .

  5. #5
    Senior Member giantcanopy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    6,232

    Default Re: Taking fireworks

    Without a cable release there is a chance your hand will induce movements during bulb and the trails of fireworks will look wavy and tremulous.

    Ryan

  6. #6

    Default Re: Taking fireworks

    Thanx alot for the replies.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Taking fireworks

    am i right to say that black card is useful for multiple sets of fireworks in a single photo

    if i only want one set of firework on the photo, i only need a cable release?

  8. #8

    Default Re: Taking fireworks

    that is it ,youre almost there .

    but most of the shot will be washed out with the blast ,just take note .

    Got to do it very very fast ,timing must be right like after the blast then open your shuttle .

    You will find black card very useful after all .

  9. #9
    Senior Member giantcanopy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    6,232

    Default Re: Taking fireworks

    Have to try a few times to get the hang of the technique.
    I tried shooting fireworks thrice before getting something decent out of it. And I am still learning

    Ryan

  10. #10

    Question Re: Taking fireworks

    how much is a release cable? got standard lengths?
    can attach to prosumer cam? er, if my cam max shutter speed
    (slowest) is only 4 sec, am i limited by tat time frame? if e shot
    says need longer exposure time then how? in this case fireworks.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore
    Posts
    130

    Default Re: Taking fireworks

    Set your camera to Bulb. Use tripod & shutter release cable to avoid camera shake.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Clementi
    Posts
    10,596

    Default Re: Taking fireworks

    Does your prosumer have a bulb mode? Bulb mode is basically when your shutter's opening duration is controlled by your shutter button manually.

    For most bulb modes, when you depress the shutter button, the shutter will open and hold open, then close when you release the shutter button. The same usually applies for cable release.

  13. #13
    Member Buggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    1,139

    Default Re: Taking fireworks

    Quote Originally Posted by hotterdog View Post
    how much is a release cable? got standard lengths?
    can attach to prosumer cam? er, if my cam max shutter speed
    (slowest) is only 4 sec, am i limited by tat time frame? if e shot
    says need longer exposure time then how? in this case fireworks.
    By specs of your camera. If your slowest shutter is 4s. It can't go any slower.

  14. #14

    Question Re: Taking fireworks

    Quote Originally Posted by calebk View Post
    Does your prosumer have a bulb mode? Bulb mode is basically when your shutter's opening duration is controlled by your shutter button manually.

    For most bulb modes, when you depress the shutter button, the shutter will open and hold open, then close when you release the shutter button. The same usually applies for cable release.
    **suck thumb.... dun think got bulb mode leh.. so LPPL issit?

    Quote Originally Posted by Buggy View Post
    By specs of your camera. If your slowest shutter is 4s. It can't go any slower.
    so in this case, i just set e controls to fireworks mode & let
    e pre-programmed mode take over?

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Clementi
    Posts
    10,596

    Default Re: Taking fireworks

    Quote Originally Posted by hotterdog View Post
    **suck thumb.... dun think got bulb mode leh.. so LPPL issit?



    so in this case, i just set e controls to fireworks mode & let
    e pre-programmed mode take over?
    I think you might have more control in Manual mode, using 4s shutter, lowest ISO and an aperture setting with good DOF, and trying to work with that. You never know what the camera might mess with in terms of settings when you set it to fireworks mode.

  16. #16
    Member Buggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    1,139

    Default Re: Taking fireworks

    Quote Originally Posted by calebk View Post
    I think you might have more control in Manual mode, using 4s shutter, lowest ISO and an aperture setting with good DOF, and trying to work with that. You never know what the camera might mess with in terms of settings when you set it to fireworks mode.
    Agree. When shooting fireworks with lower light intensity, you may consider bumping up the iso so as to avoid underexposure.

  17. #17

    Default Re: Taking fireworks

    for me it will be bulb , iso 100, f8 to f 11 ...exposure ard 2 second..set on tripod with a wireless remote

    on prosume set it to timer 2 sec delay , low iso ...try f4 ( or something near ) as prosumer only have up to f8 if i not wrong . Play with the setting and see the best suit ...hope it help

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •