Thread: Calibration of light meters

Default Calibration of light meters

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to light meters but recently i acquired a Sekonic L-308.

I did some search on the web and read many articles about calibrating their light meters. However, none of them managed to elaborate further on exactly how do they calibrate their devices.

Anyone here kind enough to explain how to calibrate the light meter?
    Hasselblad 503CW | 100mm f/3.5 CF | Contax 645 | Zeiss 80mm f/2 | Website

Default Re: Calibration of light meters

You shoot at the settings recommended by the meter. You look at the pix from your camera. If you are doing incident metering and the highlights are blown, you will need to adjust it. Ditto, if you are doing reflected metering and you find your shadow detail is gone, you will need to adjust it.

In other words, it's to adjust your meter to fit with your camera's sensor.

Smile Re: Calibration of light meters

L308 is a handheld meter, if i am not wrong. most of such meters are incident meter unless optional accessories are used to read reflected light. wheras camera's sensors are designed for reflected readings.

your statement is misleading, without further explanation.

Quote Originally Posted by waileong View Post

In other words, it's to adjust your meter to fit with your camera's sensor.

I suggest you read the specs of the meter. And understand how to meter.

Most importantly, it's to understand what to do when you have the reading and compare with your pix.

Quote Originally Posted by reachme2003 View Post
    L308 is a handheld. meter, if i am not wrong. most of such meters are incident meter unless optional accessories are used to read reflected light. wheras camera's sensors are designed for reflected readings.

your statement is misleading, without further explanation.
    Last edited by waileong; 29th June 2008 at 08:54 PM.

Smile Re: Calibration of light meters

i do not own a L308. care to elaborate pls.