Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Pentax

Pentax Be Interesting

Old 26th June 2008   #1
longko

Default Lens option help

I looking for an af zoom lens that can give reasonable amount of bokeh (blur) in event shot from 28 or 35mm to something more than 100mm. Think a f2.8 or f3.5 or f4 would be ok. Any bro got recommendation?
Old 26th June 2008   #2
flowerpot

Default Re: Lens option help

for the focal length and aperture, probably need 2 lens to cover,50-135 or 70-200 from tamron or sigma + ur tamron... if die die need 1 lens, i dun think there is much option, maybe 18-200/250 but probably too slow for u...better get the opinions of the old birds, they probably have more ideas...

or u can go C they have a very good 24-105f4
Old 26th June 2008   #3
art2d2

I would recommend the combination of the DA*16-50 and DA*50-135 for indoor / stage events. The DA50*135 has proven to me how good it was during my shoot at the Aviva Badminton Open, shooting from the sideline without flash.

For outdoors you might need something with a bit more reach in the 100-300mm zone. I am still waiting for the DA*60-250 F4

The other option for the medium range zoom will probably be a Tamron 28-75 F2.8, I heard its pretty good and cheaper alternative. Too bad neither the new Tamron 70-200 F2.8 or the new version Sigma 70-200 F2.8 HSM Marco is available here. These 2 lens will be my 2nd option for shooting events outdoors. I used the older version of Sigma 70-200 F2.8 on Canon before shooting 2 rugby tournaments, pretty good results in terms of sharpness and bokeh.

Last edited by art2d2; 26th June 2008 at 10:19 AM.
Sponsored Link
Old 26th June 2008   #4
longko

Originally Posted by flowerpot View Post
for the focal length and aperture, probably need 2 lens to cover,50-135 or 70-200 from tamron or sigma + ur tamron... if die die need 1 lens, i dun think there is much option, maybe 18-200/250 but probably too slow for u...better get the opinions of the old birds, they probably have more ideas...

or u can go C they have a very good 24-105f4
The lens I'm looking for most likely wun be modern lens, should be a discontinued one. 50-135mm not ideal cos not wide enough. Tamron 70-200mm was in my list but I find I'll need switch in between event >.<

Ya I'm being tempted to go C, but I enjoyed wearing a Pentax strap which nobody will even bothered to "spy" on what u are doing
Old 26th June 2008   #5
longko

Originally Posted by art2d2 View Post
I would recommend the combination of the DA*16-50 and DA*50-135 for indoor / stage events. The DA50*135 has proven to me how good it was during my shoot at the Aviva Badminton Open, shooting from the sideline without flash.

For outdoors you might need something with a bit more reach in the 100-300mm zone. I am still waiting for the DA*60-250 F4

The other option for the medium range zoom will probably be a Tamron 28-75 F2.8, I heard its pretty good and cheaper alternative. Too bad neither the new Tamron 70-200 F2.8 or the new version Sigma 70-200 F2.8 HSM Marco is available here. These 2 lens will be my 2nd option for shooting events outdoors. I used the older version of Sigma 70-200 F2.8 on Canon before shooting 2 rugby tournaments, pretty good results in terms of sharpness and bokeh.
None of the current series of lenses will fit my need. Outdoor I can easily do it even with a DA 50-200mm.

Unlike Aviva which the players are restricted to a small area, dog shows they parade around the ring based on the judge likings. You wun have time to switch here and there. It's kinda diff if u do it for fun and do it officially^^;
Old 26th June 2008   #6
dnaxe

Longko:

Perhaps: http://www.dpreview.com/news/0306/03...a24135lens.asp Sigma 24-135 2.8-4.5

edit: also see http://www.bdimitrov.de/kmp/lenses/z...ort/index.html

obvious options are: FA 28-105/3.2-4.5, FA 24-90/3.5-4.5

Last edited by dnaxe; 26th June 2008 at 10:32 AM.
Old 26th June 2008   #7
art2d2

Originally Posted by longko View Post
None of the current series of lenses will fit my need. Outdoor I can easily do it even with a DA 50-200mm.

Unlike Aviva which the players are restricted to a small area, dog shows they parade around the ring based on the judge likings. You wun have time to switch here and there. It's kinda diff if u do it for fun and do it officially^^;
I understand where you coming from. The other option which most event shooters are doing is having 2 bodies with 2 different lens. For backup purposes and to eliminate the downtime of changing lens.

Last edited by art2d2; 26th June 2008 at 10:32 AM.
Old 26th June 2008   #8
longko

Originally Posted by art2d2 View Post
I understand where you coming from. The other option which most event shooters are doing is having 2 bodies with 2 different lens. For backup purposes and to eliminate the downtime of changing lens.
lol 2 bodies also not an option. Unlike other events where the photographer is standing or squatting. I'm almost touching the floor most of the time, need to go eye lvl of the dogs. Imagine with CHH group The extra body and lens will be banging against the floor most of the time

Edit: My original planning was have a Tamron 17-50mm f2.8 and Tamron 70-200mm f2.8 (when it's available) on K10D, just switch lens when needed. Worst come to worst just have K100D on standby. After last Sunday everything change. K10D noise too much, K100D not much color control especially no K. Switch lens out, 2 bodies out. I'm kinda lost lol At least K20D upgrade would be required. Other option is switch camp, which I really dun wan. I work so hard with the Pentax for 1+yr, dun think I wanna give up now^^;

Last edited by longko; 26th June 2008 at 10:53 AM.
Old 26th June 2008   #9
longko

Originally Posted by dnaxe View Post
Longko:

Perhaps: http://www.dpreview.com/news/0306/03...a24135lens.asp Sigma 24-135 2.8-4.5

edit: also see http://www.bdimitrov.de/kmp/lenses/z...ort/index.html

obvious options are: FA 28-105/3.2-4.5, FA 24-90/3.5-4.5
Thanks^^ Worried about the bokeh at f4.5 <135mm. bokeh tends to be ok at 150 to 200mm with f4. But I'll look into it thanks^^
Old 26th June 2008   #10
dnaxe

You're welcome!

Originally Posted by longko View Post
lol 2 bodies also not an option. Unlike other events where the photographer is standing or squatting. I'm almost touching the floor most of the time, need to go eye lvl of the dogs. Imagine with CHH group The extra body and lens will be banging against the floor most of the time
http://www.kgear.com/suggsystems/

one camera in a holster, the other one out.
Old 26th June 2008   #11
hjbyeo

I thought the 28-75 Tamron would be a good choice? Not wide enough?
Old 26th June 2008   #12
longko

Originally Posted by hjbyeo View Post
I thought the 28-75 Tamron would be a good choice? Not wide enough?
wide enough but not long enough^^; troublesome hor.. i'll really like to get 28-75mm lor, but too bad >.<
Old 26th June 2008   #13
hjbyeo

If you can find the FA 24 - 90 ... it'll be just nice??.. I love the pictures that comes from it. Got it previously via Fengwei (it's Lok's), but sold it back to Fengwei cos' he's travelling and I wanted the wide angle side of things.
Old 26th June 2008   #14
longko

Originally Posted by hjbyeo View Post
If you can find the FA 24 - 90 ... it'll be just nice??.. I love the pictures that comes from it. Got it previously via Fengwei (it's Lok's), but sold it back to Fengwei cos' he's travelling and I wanted the wide angle side of things.
Don't think the bokeh will be enough for 90mm f4.5. If no such lens, my only option is get someone to cover the wider end^^; Anyway thanks for all those who have commented. I'll try look into the options suggested.
Closed Thread