Thread: what filters should I buy? Advice needed!

Default what filters should I buy? Advice needed!

hi, I am a newbie here. I will focus my interests on black/white photography concerning landscapes and portraits.

I know orange filters and red filters are widely used in B/W photography to create special effects, but i am hesitating that which one i should buy firstly and how to use it to make my pictures attractive?

Of course, i will use the orange or red filter for color pictures. So which one is used more frequently?

Thank you for any advice and suggestions!

--exorcist

Default Re: what filters should I buy? Advice needed!

Originally posted by exorcist
    hi, I am a newbie here. I will focus my interests on black/white photography concerning landscapes and portraits.

I know orange filters and red filters are widely used in B/W photography to create special effects, but i am hesitating that which one i should buy firstly and how to use it to make my pictures attractive?

Of course, i will use the orange or red filter for color pictures. So which one is used more frequently?

Thank you for any advice and suggestions!

--exorcist
    i feel there is no which to buy first because both create different effect. However, with budget , consider the organge first. It more " general" in that sense.

i've not tried red filter in colour photography. but the orange make the scence more warm. personally i dont quite like it because it "kills" all other colour.
    Last edited by jtnet; 2nd July 2003 at 09:47 PM.

IMHO, orange and red are a bit too close in terms of clour. Why not try a green filter instead of a red for B&W?

a polarizer is always a good choice.
    Today is a gift; that's why it's called the present.
    The toys

Default :P

hi, guys

thank u for advices!

yes, i have a CPL already. For the reason of budget, i will choose one from red and orange filters for my b/w photography.