Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Usergroup Discussions > Underwater Photography

Underwater Photography All things nautically & photographically related. Dive in!!

Old 17th June 2008   #1
doUbleCHIN

Default A long Road ahead!

My first attempt with Ikelite housing and Fuji E900. My first leisure dive and first dive experience at Tioman. The visibility I thought was ok but my buoyancy skill probably more suited to play in baby pool.

I have much to improve and buoyancy is top priority before more damage is done.

Below are taken mostly at Soyak dive site.

Last edited by doUbleCHIN; 18th June 2008 at 11:43 PM.
Old 17th June 2008   #2
doUbleCHIN

Default Re: A long Road ahead!

Old 17th June 2008   #3
doUbleCHIN

Sponsored Link
Old 17th June 2008   #4
doUbleCHIN

Old 17th June 2008   #5
bighead

I think you should do something abt the purple cast for the seafan. Very unnatural ..
Old 17th June 2008   #6
doUbleCHIN

Is called SeaFan ah!...

Oh! thanks for pointing that out. Ya! I think PS auto color screwed the color. Honestly I also not sure how it is not suppose to look. I guess have to use some common sense.

Will fix it soon. Two more. I think the top one suffered what they called "backscatter". Correct?

Old 17th June 2008   #7
kthan

the E900 is a very competent cam.....use manual white balance or shoot RAW.
Old 17th June 2008   #8
doUbleCHIN

Thank Kthan. I will look up how to obtain proper white balance underwater. My next dive, I will hantam entirely in Raw.
Old 17th June 2008   #9
Gymrat76

Hey Chin,

Looks like we WERE on the same trip..

You have a pic of me holding the SMB spool

Auto-correction in PS don't work very well, learn to tweak the various settings, and how to set your white balance properly when U/W will help a lot in improving the colour casts. Maybe time for DUP course?

Cheers mate, nice diving with ya, though we wern't really in the same group!
Old 17th June 2008   #10
ndroo

Wah! Nice! Nice! Time to upgrade to a DSLR n strobes lah!
Old 17th June 2008   #11
Gymrat76

Oops, sorry on closer inspection, it wasn't me holding the spool!

BUT we were on the same trip
Old 17th June 2008   #12
doUbleCHIN

Originally Posted by ndroo View Post
Wah! Nice! Nice! Time to upgrade to a DSLR n strobes lah!
Oh! Nice. The celebration for me living on earth for so long is coming soon.

I really dun mind having such a fantastic setup as present.
Old 17th June 2008   #13
doUbleCHIN

Originally Posted by Gymrat76 View Post
Oops, sorry on closer inspection, it wasn't me holding the spool!

BUT we were on the same trip
Is ok man. No problem. We all look almost identical down there.
Old 17th June 2008   #14
Gymrat76

Originally Posted by doUbleCHIN View Post
No we don't

Old 17th June 2008   #15
doUbleCHIN

ok ok!
Old 17th June 2008   #16
ndroo

Originally Posted by doUbleCHIN View Post
He can ID u by ur chins lah
Old 17th June 2008   #17
lovells19

eh thats not the right way to use a finger spool

don't use auto in photoshop, have to manually adjust to get the correct colors.

get a strobe
Old 17th June 2008   #18
Gymrat76

[quote=lovells19;4099170]eh thats not the right way to use a finger spool

QUOTE]

Think he was just holding it leh... then what is the correct way? Cos that's the way i hold it also (make a ring btw thumb and middle finger)
Old 17th June 2008   #19
talbazar

Nice first shots I'd say.
About post processing, I had (and still have ) the same problem.
Here is a link which helped be quite a lot at the beginning:
http://www.gadling.com/2005/02/11/ho...rwater-photos/

Hope you enjoy...
Cheers,
Pierre.
Old 17th June 2008   #20
lovells19

Originally Posted by Gymrat76 View Post

Think he was just holding it leh... then what is the correct way? Cos that's the way i hold it also (make a ring btw thumb and middle finger)
His thumb is outside the spool.
Closed Thread