Thread: First Attempt on Night photography.

Default First Attempt on Night photography.

Hi I am new here as well as new to night photography, I am pretty happy with the result since this is my first attempt but still hope to improve so, Constructive comments pls. Hehe.

Photo Detail:
    Shutter Speed: 1/2 sec
    Aperture: F4.0
    ISO: 200
    Camera: Sony Alpha 200
    Lens: Kit Lens (18mm - 70mm)
    Last edited by gohdes8; 6th June 2008 at 01:49 PM.

Default Re: First Attempt on Night photography.

Since you mentioned night photography, i presume, you are seeking technical comments.

you probably could have bump your f-number to about f9 and drag your shutter a little longer, say 20 secs.

Thx for yr comments. Will take note

the lights on the right are way too distracting. and yeah, trying stopping down the aperture to f/8 or f/11. if the lights weren't there, i believe the outcome would have been much better. have you tried taking from other angles?

If you are on tripod, you don't really need the higher ISO for handholding speed, so you can safely lower your ISO to 100 (or whichever is the minimum on you camera).

Really? Ok thx for the tips. Thx a lot. Learn something today. Haha

The big globe lights at the right are distracting. Kind of hard to judge with such a small image, but the colors look good. A little busy - too many competing elements in the photo.

How sharp is it at a decent size?

Anyway, long or short shutter speed depends on the kind of reflection you're after.

Are you using a tripod in this photo?
    Last edited by lennyl; 6th June 2008 at 02:33 PM.

Ya i am on.

The lights on the right lead me to the path. Maybe you could try shooting at different angles?

the shot might turn out better if you had left the railings and lamp post out. because as a viewer when i first see the picture the lamp post attracts me first which shouldn't be the case.
    "We will see Him, coming down the clouds from heaven... In Majesty"