Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Canon

Canon Exhilaration Of Sight

Old 26th June 2003   #1
edwardmanics

Default Buying a 10D

Hi all

I am not too familiar with buying a DSLR, so I need some advice on this issue.

1. If I buy this device, does it come with a default lens or just the body alone?

2. if it does not come with lens, what are the recommended lens that is worth buying?

Thanks in advance.
Old 26th June 2003   #2
ivor

Default Re: Buying a 10D

Just camera body only...

Quote:
Originally posted by edwardmanics

1. If I buy this device, does it come with a default lens or just the body alone?

What is your photography requirements...?? What do you intend to use the camera to shoot...??

Quote:

2. if it does not come with lens, what are the recommended lens that is worth buying?
Old 26th June 2003   #3
sehsuan

more specifically, only the body and one battery, when you buy it.

the storage, the lens, you have to buy it separately.
Sponsored Link
Old 26th June 2003   #4
eug

Quote:
Buy the 'L's ................
Kidding ... do provide us with your requirements ... and uhm ... budget ...
Old 26th June 2003   #5
edwardmanics

currently using the G2. Saw the shots taken by sehsuan and was like

pretty amazing with wat a DSLR can do. Can a G2 do all that?

I am considered a newbie. Usage like once per month.
Old 26th June 2003   #6
sehsuan

choy choy choy choy choy! i newbie leh!

just the only difference is that i try shooting anything and everything - so that's why my photos aren't good ok, don't sabo me.

but seriously, what *did* i do? you sure sound like some shot of mine left some impression (good? bad?) on you. don't scare me, ok?
Old 26th June 2003   #7
majere2sg

I am also curious about how a DSLR works.

I saw a couple of lense posting but I have no clue on what they does.. What is USM ? IS ? "L" ?

If I want to shoot far distance animals/birds does it means I have to buy a zoom lens up to 200mm or 300mm ? If I want to shoot macro stuff, does it means I have to buy another separate lense for it ? Can I use the close up filter like Canon 250D on the lense ?
Old 26th June 2003   #8
sehsuan

try this site for the EOS FAQ - it's very concise.
http://photonotes.org/articles/beginner-faq/

and of course, the EOS Flash Photography FAQ too
http://photonotes.org/articles/eos-flash/

for macro, i'm not sure, you can PM Megaweb, or visit his site at http://megaweb.clubsnap.org - his macro shots are the most power ones on CS

and you are generally right, you have to buy different lenses for different purposes, but you have to discover what you want to do first. typically we'd start from around 50mm, so like what some recommend, a 24-85mm zoom lens will let you try out a zoom lens that is close to our normal vision's capabilities

Last edited by sehsuan; 26th June 2003 at 08:51 PM.
Old 26th June 2003   #9
Tweek

Quote:

If u use it once a month, I'd suggest you hold the purchase, and stick to your G2. It'll be hard to justify the price to pay, unless of course, money is not in the consideration at all!

A g2 can be damn good if you learn to use it well. Take a look at these shots taken by a g1:

http://photography-on-the.net/galler...p?exhibition=7

Select "Seven Months with Canon G1" from the View Exhibition menu.

A DSLR will not automatically guarantee u shots anywhere near that. A good eye and technical knowledge are much more impt in achieving good shots.
Old 26th June 2003   #10
Jer76

Quote:

Bro with the right technique G2 oso can do that.. maybe AF not so fast only.. but there's a way to overcome that.. if u use like once per mth then u should reconsider leh
Old 26th June 2003   #11
edwardmanics

thanks for all the advice.

after thinking it through, the money needed to plong into this DSLR hobby is

near $4K
Old 26th June 2003   #12
togu

Quote:

near $4K
That's consider cheap....
Old 26th June 2003   #13
AJ23

that's also probaby the minimum.

Quote:

near $4K
Old 26th June 2003   #14
SniperD

well, the basic body wil be about $2650, the battery grip wil be about $270, the CF card will be about $190 for a 512mb, The extra battery will be about $60

and the total wil be 2650+270+190+60 = 3170
and that exclude lens..... which is another cost by itself...

FOr your current position, try to see if you can find more usage in justifying the 10D as Tweek mentioned as you wouldn't want this hefty commitment to go to waste yah?
Old 26th June 2003   #15
Wai

Quote:
Originally posted by SniperD
well, the basic body wil be about $2650, the battery grip wil be about $270, the CF card will be about $190 for a 512mb, The extra battery will be about $60

and the total wil be 2650+270+190+60 = 3170
and that exclude lens..... which is another cost by itself...
I think most DSLR users, including myself spend more $$ on lenses and flash than the DSLR body itself

Tripod...bag...flash...and the list can go on and on and on
Old 26th June 2003   #16
sehsuan

you guys are so bad, you haven't even begun on the upgrades to the computer to tahan all the shots -

1. faster than average pc
2. more memory for pc
3. more storage for pc
4. cdrw drive for pc
5. post processing time

but then again, memory for pc is dirt cheap, compared with 2 years ago...

not to scare you la edwardmanics, but just some considerations that most of us went thru (and suffering lesser sleep too - thanks to post processing )
Old 26th June 2003   #17
zOOm

One reason why I "hate" to come to clubsnap is that being constantly "seduced" to buy DSLR <just kidding>

wait wait wait,I guess I wait one month to decide if to buy Canon 10D
Old 26th June 2003   #18
sehsuan

zOOm, good thing that you have one full month to consider - think hard about it. one of my fingers kenna stressed from carrying the camera "dangling" from loose hand grip - it's painful.

compacts are well, compact, but they're heck lot more easier to carry around. i didn't know this was true when some dslr owners actually said they preferred a digi-compact because it's so much lighter...
Old 26th June 2003   #19
sulhan
Advertiser

Default My Advice...

Hiee....

Why not take that $4K and plan on a photography holiday trip to other parts of the world!!!!!!

You already have G2!!!! one of the longest camera to be in the market....and proven !!!!!!

Why worry so much of getting another equipment if you only use it once in a month!!!!!!

GO! Go! GO!!!...Travel!!!! And share with us your photos!!!

regards,
me
Old 26th June 2003   #20
AJ23

eh hrm... also including the following,

(1) better printer, A3/A4 inkjet or solid ink laser printer
(2) glossy photo paper
(3) large album books to store A3/A4 prints
(4) large cabinets to store album books
(5) a plama or LCD TV to preview shots
(6) a bigger room!

the list goes on... I shan't add more.