View Poll Results: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

Voters
309. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes all the time! 10 megalpixels and above only!

    247 79.94%
  • Only when i need to print, otherwise is abt 4-7 megal pixel

    62 20.06%
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 84

Thread: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

  1. #61
    Member Deming86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    SengKang
    Posts
    261

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Maximum Megapixels for Maximum Pleasure! woots!
    Shoot with your heart, not for greed/ego..

  2. #62
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Behide You
    Posts
    101

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    i see what my "customers" want

  3. #63
    Member deathstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    West End Boy
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Yes I do

    Which is why I always bring 10GB of memory when I travel.

  4. #64

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Yep, I shoot at max resolution (21.1mpx for me) and I usually shoot RAW (14-bit DR) especially in low light/night scene conditions so I can correct the exposure/white balance/etc... slightly (without significant IQ degradation) during PP later if I have to.
    5D Mk II | TS-E 17L | 17-40L | 24-105L IS | 35L | 85L | 70-200 f/2.8L IS | 100L Macro | 580EX II

  5. #65
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Pasir Ris, Singapore
    Posts
    14,002

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    I only shoot at "Large Fine" and it's gd enough. Never tried RAW.
    Canon EOS 5D, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 50 f/1.2 L, 70-300 f/4-5.6 L IS, 600EX-RT. Sigma 12-24 f/4.5-5.6 EX.

  6. #66
    Member kenkht's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    395

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Quote Originally Posted by deathstar View Post
    Yes I do

    Which is why I always bring 10GB of memory when I travel.
    Noted the date of this comment but today, those with over 20mp camera and shooting raw will probably not last half a day (for me at least). That's why I'm still sweating over how many memory cards to bring for my upcoming 10 day trek .. 10 of 8gb or 10 of 16gb

  7. #67
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    358

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Quote Originally Posted by kenkht View Post
    Noted the date of this comment but today, those with over 20mp camera and shooting raw will probably not last half a day (for me at least). That's why I'm still sweating over how many memory cards to bring for my upcoming 10 day trek .. 10 of 8gb or 10 of 16gb
    wow 10 day trek ... you be trekking and camping out for a full 10 days? if not then maybe lugging a light laptop will be a better option. then again, if you have 10 16gb cards, why not?

    for me i shoot raw plus jpeg more because of the 'just in case' mentality ... just in case i like the shot and need raw for certain aspects of PP which may not work so well with jpeg. then again my max is at 10mp so it doesnt exactly take up too much space.

  8. #68

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Shoot in RAW with jpeg. Both will be good enough at 10mp. Will nvr touch RAW unless its under or over expose. RAW is like my back up. After sending to client, give them 10 days warranty on pictures and after that i delete all the RAW but keep the jpeg.
    Shoot and shoot and shoot
    Every shoot is a puzzle to the world of photography...

  9. #69
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    400

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    kiasu singaporean here. full megapixel all the time. for cropping and stuff if i need to.

  10. #70
    Member boombox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,225

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    For documenting and memories, like just random outings, I shoot Small Jpegs - which translates into 2.5 mpx and 3 mpx on my two bodies...

    but for my assignments, I take full res.

  11. #71

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Yes, all the time but not 10 mega pixels! My camera allows till 8.

  12. #72

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    max mp & raw every shot.

    Max mp allows me to crop yet still have plenty of pixels left for a quality print.
    Raw because it ultimately results in a better quality print after editing, plus some raw editing tools can't be used on jpegs (exposure, white-balance, colour-space etc)

  13. #73
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Pasir Ris, Singapore
    Posts
    14,002

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Actually the reason why i don't shoot RAW cos i lazy to covert.
    Canon EOS 5D, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 50 f/1.2 L, 70-300 f/4-5.6 L IS, 600EX-RT. Sigma 12-24 f/4.5-5.6 EX.

  14. #74

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    in my thought is

    Big size --- you can resize it to smaller size
    Small size --- you cannot resize it to bigger size

    so until now..always shot with full megapixel..
    bring more CF card... and I bring laptop for transfer in case I do travelling..

    Cheers
    -Jay-

  15. #75

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    add to that, shooting at max megapixel, after cropping, can be as nice and high resolution as well.
    this is needed when my zoom lens can't zoom that far.

  16. #76

    Smile Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Yea. I agreed with most of them. Fully utilised the camera capacity since you paid for it. I shoot both raw and jpeg.

  17. #77

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    I shoot at RAW + JPEG Fine (L)

  18. #78
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Pasir Ris, Singapore
    Posts
    14,002

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Quote Originally Posted by choongseng View Post
    add to that, shooting at max megapixel, after cropping, can be as nice and high resolution as well.
    this is needed when my zoom lens can't zoom that far.
    Depending on how much u crop, resolution also reduce accordingly.
    Canon EOS 5D, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 50 f/1.2 L, 70-300 f/4-5.6 L IS, 600EX-RT. Sigma 12-24 f/4.5-5.6 EX.

  19. #79

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Quote Originally Posted by wdEvA View Post
    I always shoot in full resolution in raw, just resize it afterwards if you dont need the big size.
    that's what i do too, i usually delete the raw file also once i'm done with the edits. RAW allows me the flexibility of adjusting the WB which is very important.

    and also more levels of brightness to work with is welcomed for some exposure correction. Unfortunately my 400D only has one RAW output - the full 10.2mp.
    might as well, i guess - lots of room for mad cropping especially when shooting my prime lenses.

  20. #80

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    I always shoot RAW+JPG

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •