View Poll Results: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

Voters
309. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes all the time! 10 megalpixels and above only!

    247 79.94%
  • Only when i need to print, otherwise is abt 4-7 megal pixel

    62 20.06%
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 84

Thread: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

  1. #41

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Technically it is a bad idea to shoot at lower megapixel (unless you drop it to 1/4 of the original).

    This is because the sensor comprises of pixels, so if you have 10MP then you choose to shoot at 7MP, technically the entire picture is an interpolated image that has lower resolution. Try this on your LCD monitor, set it at the native resolution (typically 1280x1024 for 17") then reduce it to a lower resolution (e.g. 1024x768). You will see that the display is now less sharp. The same phenomenon will happen with the sensors.

  2. #42
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Quote Originally Posted by JCYRHS View Post
    I do shoot at lower res because there are indeed some noise control with it. This is especially so if you have lower end DSLR. Probably because you still use the entire sensor but more CCD/CMOS area dedicated to each pixel. Tried and tested. And if I am not wrong, this is how Fuji is pushing the iso limits for its compact cameras, i.e. highest iso only available for lower res.
    fuji has produced some of the best compacts like f31d~~

  3. #43

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Largest size and quality possible, RAW will depends on condition.

  4. #44
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Tiong Bahru
    Posts
    367

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    i noticed that most of you do the shootings at RAW format. is there a reason??
    D3s, N24-70, N70-200 VR2, 85 1.4G, SB700, SB910

  5. #45
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    more freedom to adjust.. more functions to adjust using the manufacturers software~~

  6. #46
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Tiong Bahru
    Posts
    367

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    what kind of adjustment?
    is there any documents to read about it?
    D3s, N24-70, N70-200 VR2, 85 1.4G, SB700, SB910

  7. #47

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    I usually go fr raw+basic. Im far too lazy to convert frm raw to jpeg, unless e photo is nice n worth post processing. Basic jpeg is sufficient for power points, websites, and more than enough fr msn tiny display pics. Raw files take up huge space though, but you can edit without compromising quality.
    Photography takes an instant out of time, altering life by holding it still

  8. #48
    Member lennyl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,520

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Quote Originally Posted by wuminlee View Post
    i noticed that most of you do the shootings at RAW format. is there a reason??
    I answered this earlier, these are my reasons:

    http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showp...8&postcount=21

  9. #49
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Quote Originally Posted by wuminlee View Post
    what kind of adjustment?
    is there any documents to read about it?
    canon uses dpp. that software has alot easy controls.

  10. #50
    Senior Member egnaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boon Lay, Singapore
    Posts
    2,989

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    I will use high res for all my shot...
    Life is like Photography, to improve, you have to keep shooting!

  11. #51

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    I would rather get a D70 or 300D if I only shoot at low megapixels.

  12. #52

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    I always shoot at max resolution. It is to enable cropping with minimum lost in picture quality subsequently, and also to exploit the potential of what I have invested, otherwise might as well get a cheaper gadget with lower resolution.

  13. #53
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Where the wind blows...
    Posts
    4,528

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    U won't know when you will capture your best photo in your life.....so full resolution is what I will take, always.

  14. #54
    Member lennyl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,520

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Quote Originally Posted by lastboltnut View Post
    U won't know when you will capture your best photo in your life.....so full resolution is what I will take, always.
    Absent minded as I am, I'm more worried about setting to lower res to capture something insignificant, then forgetting to reset it when it is time to shoot something important.

  15. #55

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Always go for Max MP SD Cards are so cheap compare to the good framing you could have on your photos

  16. #56

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    you bought a camera to not shoot what it is capable of...

    wow...

    that is like buying a laptop to use it as a paper weight!

  17. #57
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Chomp-Chomp
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Yes I do shoot at full, even with my PnS camera in the past. Now I have upgraded to a dslr, I don't see why not. Anyway, the equipment that you are paying for is capable of giving you so much resolution, so don't see a need to reduce it unless got a valid reason to. So its FULL-meg for me!!!
    Time & Tide waits for no man! :nono:

  18. #58

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Quote Originally Posted by JCYRHS View Post
    I do shoot at lower res because there are indeed some noise control with it. This is especially so if you have lower end DSLR. Probably because you still use the entire sensor but more CCD/CMOS area dedicated to each pixel. Tried and tested. And if I am not wrong, this is how Fuji is pushing the iso limits for its compact cameras, i.e. highest iso only available for lower res.

    i *thought* if you reduce the MP, only part of the sensor area will be used instead of full area?

    correct me if i'm wrong..
    [Canon EOS 5D II + 40D | EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II + 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II] [Fuji X-Pro1 + XF35mm f/1.4]

  19. #59
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Quote Originally Posted by chesterqw View Post
    you bought a camera to not shoot what it is capable of...

    wow...

    that is like buying a laptop to use it as a paper weight!
    What sort of analogy is that?
    If you drive a Toyota Altis for example, do you drive it at its maximum speed all the time?
    How about those people who buy Ferraris and Lamborghinis? Do you see them driving at 300km/h?

    Surely there's more to a high-end camera than only megapixels. Otherwise the Nikon D3 would have 30megapixels, instead of having less than the Alpha 350.

    May I know how large you normally print your photos? A2 size?
    Last edited by ZerocoolAstra; 27th June 2008 at 10:24 AM.

  20. #60
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Quote Originally Posted by zzyzx View Post
    i *thought* if you reduce the MP, only part of the sensor area will be used instead of full area?

    correct me if i'm wrong..
    The image circle produced by the lens stays the same, no matter what resolution you set the sensor to. Take a shot at low res and max res. Is the field of view the same? If so, it can't be using less of the sensor, can it?

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •