View Poll Results: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

Voters
309. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes all the time! 10 megalpixels and above only!

    247 79.94%
  • Only when i need to print, otherwise is abt 4-7 megal pixel

    62 20.06%
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 84

Thread: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    186

    Default Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Most modern DSLRs have 10-12mp sensors at least. I'm using a D300 however im shooting at 6.9mp. I rarely print, if so also not is A4 or below size.
    I'm using a 24inch iMac with a 1920x1200 screen and this type of resolution has served me well even if i have to crop a bit.

    Would like to hear any opinions on this?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    1,109

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Quote Originally Posted by baileys View Post
    Most modern DSLRs have 10-12mp sensors at least. I'm using a D300 however im shooting at 6.9mp. I rarely print, if so also not is A4 or below size.
    I'm using a 24inch iMac with a 1920x1200 screen and this type of resolution has served me well even if i have to crop a bit.

    Would like to hear any opinions on this?
    Hehehe. I only have D50, so can only shoot at 6MP.... I usually do shoot at raw, fine JPEG (more often) or Normal JPEG.

    It depends on whether I have enough memory space. Since I do, I usually shoot at max.

    Having said that, 6MP is usually enough for A4, unless you need to crop.
    "Photography is an austere and blazing poetry of the real" -Ansel Adams

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Lakeside, Singapore
    Posts
    289

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    I always, without exception, shoot at full res. I always make sure that I have enough memory to allow me to do so, so this is never an issue for me. Generally, if the lighting is in my favour, I will shoot in JPEG-FINE since I don't need so much headroom for post processing, but if the light becomes tough I will switch to RAW. I also use JPEG the most since I use the burst shooting function a lot and with JPEG I'm not limited in the length of the burst that I do. Lastly, the main reason I never reduce the resolution is because cropping is a luxury. Many pixels don't automatically make your photo great or sharp, but when it comes to cropping this is absolutely the case. I never want to find myself in the situation where I think "Damn, this is such a great photo but I can't frame it the way I want to". I know it is easy to say that you can just bump up the pixels when you need to print, but the bottom line is that you never know. Certainly if you are in a controlled environment such as a studio you know what you pics are going to be; but so many of my best photographs have been pictures where I have had a completely uninspiring day and have come around the corner and thought "Oh my God!". If I had had to change the pic res on my camera to get the picture, I would have missed it. So max it is for me!
    Last edited by Churchwolf; 25th May 2008 at 01:42 PM.
    Cameras: Rollei 35, Rolleiflex-T, FinePix F700, Nikon D60, D300
    Pics: Churchwolf's Album.

  4. #4
    Member lennyl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,520

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Quote Originally Posted by baileys View Post
    Most modern DSLRs have 10-12mp sensors at least. I'm using a D300 however im shooting at 6.9mp. I rarely print, if so also not is A4 or below size.
    I'm using a 24inch iMac with a 1920x1200 screen and this type of resolution has served me well even if i have to crop a bit.

    Would like to hear any opinions on this?
    The way I reason it, I can always down-res my image, but not the other way around (or, at least, I will not gain detail doing it).

    With my very first digital P&S years ago, I was playing around with the settings and took a photo of my baby daughter that turned out to be one of my favorite photos of her at that age. And it's at a miserable 640x480 resolution (on a 2MP camera). I've always taken photos at the highest quality setting since then (and RAW ever since I got my DSLR).

  5. #5

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    it depends, if I shooting for a banner, I will shoot at full pixel... unless it is for website... of powerpoint presentation or small post card... I will shoot smll file with it... depend on my bosses requirement...
    Leica M4P/ M2 / Summarit 35mm f2.5 / Summicron C40mm f2 / Kobalux 21mm f2.8

  6. #6
    Senior Member giantcanopy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    6,232

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    With no constraints in space why not ?

    Ryan

  7. #7

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    D2H with 4.1 megapixels, go figure. Irregardless of what camera I'm using I shoot RAW.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    I always shoot in full resolution in raw, just resize it afterwards if you dont need the big size.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    碧山
    Posts
    236

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    i'm shooting RAW on my 350D and do some cropping if there's a need
    Canon 500D | Tamron 17-50 2.8, EF 28-135 IS USM, EF 50 1.8, Sigma 70-300 APO DG | 430EX | Flickr

  10. #10
    Moderator diver-hloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Somewhere North
    Posts
    5,201

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    I shoot only in RAW on my DSLR..... one size only (full size).

    Good for cropping and still leaving a 'Big' enough photo for large print..... also a very cheap method to 'zoom in' on the subject.

    Scuba & Father... For Life

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Choa Chu Kang
    Posts
    440

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    RAW for me since i'm still not pro enuf to get the pic perfect when i shoot it...nd slight editing...
    Pentax K100D Super

  12. #12

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Uhms.. If you can, why not? You never know when you might get THAT shot, and you don't want to be wishing you had set the res higher.. Anyway, I just shoot in RAW and convert to jpg on laptop... "saves" space compared to RAW+L
    Meow!

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Serangoon North
    Posts
    2,225

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Always in RAW for me unless I needed to print immediately than I will shoot in RAW + JPEG.
    When doing weddings, you really dun have time to check each shot so RAW will give me some leeways in getting that important shot.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    276

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Well, too bad RAW only comes in full pixels anyway, so for me is always RAW and always 10mp on my D80

  15. #15
    Member lennyl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,520

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Quote Originally Posted by kkcharles82 View Post
    Well, too bad RAW only comes in full pixels anyway, so for me is always RAW and always 10mp on my D80
    40D (and probably other cameras) has a SRAW mode. S apparently in this case means "small". 1/2 the file size, 1/4 the # of pixels.

  16. #16

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    I see no reason to shoot in anything less than maximum resolution. If I need to resize I can quickly do it in computer at a later stage.

    BTW, I use the Olympus E-3.

  17. #17

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    full 10MPs for me as i'll shoot in RAW+JPEG mode
    My flickr! Album - Sony a6000 (CZ 24-70) / CZ 85 F1.4
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/montoyasg/

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    full size definitely. You'll nv know when you will be needing that extra pixels for PP and you can resize later but not vice versa!!
    Canon 5D mkII|24-105 F4 IS L|70-200 F4 IS L|135 F2 L|580EX|

  19. #19

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    Quote Originally Posted by Churchwolf View Post
    Generally, if the lighting is in my favour, I will shoot in JPEG-FINE since I don't need so much headroom for post processing, but if the light becomes tough I will switch to RAW.
    till now i still dun understand y RAW gives you more headroom in post-processing. can you share some knowledge with me? for instance i'm using Photoshop to do pp.

    wats the advantages of using RAW to pp instead of JPEG? if possible, pls state advantages based on Photoshop. so i can relate better. thanks..
    What i need is the skill and vision of a pro... not a pro camera!

  20. #20

    Default Re: Do you shoot at full megapixel?

    I always shoot at the max megapixel because I need to crop the picture sometimes and some of the resolution are lost as a result.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •